HP41CL newbie question
03-15-2018, 01:16 PM
HP41CL newbie question
Hi,
I downloaded the new Clupdate program along with the rom_files_171202.zip.
I assume this is the newest update for everything, right? Because I also have the METX.ZIP, PWRX.ZIP and the WARP.ZIP flies.
Now can someone give me a step-by-step howto?
I know how to open a link to the calc. But then what...?
I tried to do a java -jar clupdate-1.1.0.jar —update rom_files_171202.zip /dev/tty.usbserial 4800
And I get:
8192 = 8192 bytes sent
And nothing. The calc returns to 0.0000
And what about the other files I mentioned? What do I do with them??

This may sound obvious to most of you, but I’m really a newbie...

Thanks for your help,

Engineer & Senior IT Executive
2x HP41CL, HP41CX, HP48GX, HP50g, 2x82162A Printer, 2x82143A Printer, 2x HP-IL, 2x Card-Readers, PIL-BOX.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2018, 04:28 PM
RE: HP41CL newbie question
(03-15-2018 01:16 PM)Neve Wrote:  Hi,
I downloaded the new Clupdate program along with the rom_files_171202.zip.
I assume this is the newest update for everything, right? Because I also have the METX.ZIP, PWRX.ZIP and the WARP.ZIP flies.
Now can someone give me a step-by-step howto?
I know how to open a link to the calc. But then what...?
I tried to do a java -jar clupdate-1.1.0.jar —update rom_files_171202.zip /dev/tty.usbserial 4800
And I get:
8192 = 8192 bytes sent
And nothing. The calc returns to 0.0000
And what about the other files I mentioned? What do I do with them??

This may sound obvious to most of you, but I’m really a newbie...

Thanks for your help,

The latest update .zip file is rom_files_180311.zip (on the CL website).
No other .rom files are ever necessary. Every current .rom file is in the
rom_files_xxxxxx.zip file.

You should not get anything happening as a result of the java command
UNTIL you open the comm channel. If you do, something is wrong, but
I can't answer what. Perhaps Sylvain can.