Post Reply 
Hide soft menus?
01-29-2017, 07:30 PM
Post: #61
RE: Hide soft menus?
Hello,

to be honest, I did not test any English message library so far.

Developing and testing is currently done with the German version and there is separate compiler settings file for each language. All non English compiler settings are the same with the only difference of calling the correct source language file while the rest is identical.

Whereas there are differences in the English compiler settings regarding memory access as all English languages strings are already built-in and therefore _no_ exchanges of the built-in messages library are done, for example. (The internal numbering of subroutines (XLIBS/NULLNAMES/NAMELESS) are the same.)
This is, for example, one of the reasons, while the English message library is so much smaller than the non English ones.

The ßetas I released were just simply recompilation with the English compiler settings.

So it might as well be, that some of theses parameters (or some specific only English message sources) still needs adjustment to allow the English message library to run from Port1/2.

The German message library runs very fine from Port1/2 so I know for sure that this is also true for IT/FR/ES/PT/PL.

Looks like I have to check this for the English message library before the final release.

HTH,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-30-2017, 12:06 AM
Post: #62
RE: Hide soft menus?
(01-29-2017 07:30 PM)Software49g Wrote:  Looks like I have to check this for the English message library before the final release.

Yes, definitely. :-)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-27-2017, 09:59 PM
Post: #63
RE: Hide soft menus? -> It’s a Long Way to Tipperary...
Well...
- this took longer than I thought...
- this was much more complicated than I thought...
- this was much more challenging than I thought...

However, I believe that it is now almost done and that most of the bugs have been sorted out ;-)

These are the flags, that are used by the message library:
..-4 battery indicator and free memory
-127 HP48 Error Style (requires restart of the message library if changed while the message library)
......................(is active - better set or clear it before activating the message library)
.+79 Full Screen Mode (better use [TOOL] to ensure needed RAM areas are properly initialized)
.+80 remove stack line numbers

[Image: hpr010zsg1.jpg]

[Image: hpr02pns9g.jpg]

[Image: hpr039gs6q.jpg]

[Image: hpr04nhspu.jpg]

Here is a very short video showing the full screen mode.




Next, I will test each language before finally releasing the software.
So hold your breath - but not for very much longer!

Enjoy,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2017, 12:12 AM
Post: #64
RE: Hide soft menus?
Looks very nice! Thank you for the video.

Will there be a beta version for us to test prior to the final release?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2017, 06:14 PM
Post: #65
RE: Hide soft menus?
> Will there be a beta version for us to test prior to the final release?
Nope. I am almost done, just 14 Bytes too big for the German version ;-)
Also I believe that most of the bugs have been sorted out as developing this piece of software did require a fair amount of testing.

As the uncompressed size of the lib exceeds the 140kB size and as the max. size of a lib is 130811 bytes (just below 128kB) for Port 2 some decisions had to be made to fit the lib into this corset.

As a result the SOL replacement runs from RAM taking roughly 11kB of it or in other words permanently needs less than 5 % of the available RAM.

As a side effect the SOL replacement runs faster – but that won’t be noticeable unless you have thousands of objects on the stack.

Enjoy,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2017, 06:51 PM
Post: #66
RE: Hide soft menus?
1. Thanks for the info that a lib in the 50g cannot be larger than 128Kb. That's interesting.

2. Kudos for the perseverance in following the objective even if it was not much discussed on the forum.

3. Thanks JDW for raising the question (the right question is half of the problem solved, said a professor of Math to me long ago)

Wikis are great, Contribute :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2017, 07:05 PM
Post: #67
RE: Hide soft menus?
> Thanks for the info that a lib in the 50g cannot be larger than 128Kb. That's interesting.
A lib can be as large as memory permits.

A lib running from *covered* memory is only allowed to be as large as the covering mechanism permits.

In the 48 architecture this is 128kB and therefore the max. of a lib if running from covered memory is exactly 128kB.

In the 49G some information is needed for each flashbank and each flashbank is exactly 128kb. Therefore the max. of a lib in Port 2 is 128kB minus the housekeeping information needed for each flashbank. Port 1 is identical with the 48 architecture.

HTH,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2017, 03:25 PM
Post: #68
RE: Hide soft menus?
Hello,

this is now available.

Update:
Multi Lingual Pack (TB/TBB/GUISLV/GUIMES/EQNLIB/BWL)

Enjoy,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-30-2017, 12:08 AM
Post: #69
RE: Hide soft menus?
Hello,

unfortunately a memory leak was found (thanks for the feedback!),
which forced me to withdraw the previous update (Version 2.11)
of the message library.

This has been fixed in Version 2.12 of the message library.
If you did update to 2.11 consider updating to 2.12 asap.

Enjoy,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-30-2017, 03:16 PM
Post: #70
RE: Hide soft menus?
Andreas, could you make the community available for a small battery level program like in your packs?

Thanks in advance

Hardware: Hp48S - Hp50g (5x black + 1 blue) - HP39gII - Hp27s - Casio fx-CG50
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2017, 10:25 AM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2017 05:59 PM by Software49g.)
Post: #71
RE: Hide soft menus?
Hello,

the battery code is deeply buried in the SOL replacment.

Extracting it is not so much the problem – but you need a loop to show the battery status in the display and this is what the SystemOuterLoop replacement does (besides all the other features that it offers, like the recently added features for hiding the menu or the stack level numbers).

If you run the code directly all you will see is a very brief flash in the screen (which is in fact the battery status drawn in the screen) as the regular SOL (the one built in) will redraw the screen after a program has ended.

And as I wrote already a SOL replacement to do this there is no point for me to do it again with a somewhat different feature set you are requesting.
It's all there already!

HTH,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2017, 02:56 AM
Post: #72
RE: Hide soft menus?
(09-30-2017 12:08 AM)Software49g Wrote:  ...a memory leak was found... which forced me to withdraw the previous update (Version 2.11)... This has been fixed in Version 2.12 of the message library.

Andreas,

If we purchase your software for the first time, I assume we will always get the latest version so that we do not need to install an update, correct?

Next...

On your updates page for Multi Lingual Pack, it only shows a date of 08.10.2017 and no version number is given. Also, when I click the MLP link at right, I get a 404 not found error page. You should fix this because it’s currently impossible for anyone to download a MLP update right now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2017, 10:11 AM
Post: #73
RE: Hide soft menus?
Hello,

sorry for the delay.

And thanks for the information, that the link for the update was broken.
This has been fixed now and has been updated with the latest version of the update (now new version number, however).

Usually the latest version will be shipped – but as the devil is in the detail this does not always mean that there is no later update.

For this check the version number of the software (can be seen in the filer or in the library menu, for example) and the date of the software (can be seen on your PC).

Link for the updates:
http://software49g.gmxhome.de/Updates.htm

HTH,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2017, 11:13 PM (This post was last modified: 10-30-2017 01:06 AM by Mark Hardman.)
Post: #74
RE: Hide soft menus?
(10-26-2017 10:11 AM)Software49g Wrote:  Link for the updates:
http://software49g.gmxhome.de/Updates.htm

Andreas,

Your file hosting site at www. bplaced.net is black-listed by my provider.

Is there an alternate way to download the update?

Mark Hardman

Ceci n'est pas une signature.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2017, 10:15 AM
Post: #75
RE: Hide soft menus?
(10-26-2017 10:11 AM)Software49g Wrote:  Link for the updates:
http://software49g.gmxhome.de/Updates.htm

HTH,
Andreas

Whoops, when I went to this link: http://www.software49g.bplaced.net/Updat...171026.zip, I got a 404, though some other files from the same place do show a download.

(Post 125)

Regards, BrickViking
HP-50g |Casio fx-9750G+ |Casio fx-9750GII (SH4a)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-29-2017, 10:50 PM
Post: #76
RE: Hide soft menus?
Hello,

Darn! As always the devil is in the detail.
Hopefully this is all fixed now.

Link for the updates:
http://software49g.gmxhome.de/Updates.htm

HTH,
Andreas

http://www.software49g.gmxhome.de
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2017, 01:08 AM
Post: #77
RE: Hide soft menus?
(10-29-2017 10:50 PM)Software49g Wrote:  Hopefully this is all fixed now.

HTH,
Andreas

I was able to download the latest update.

Thanks!

Ceci n'est pas une signature.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)