Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables to 0 - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables to 0 (/thread-11663.html) |
Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables to 0 - compsystems - 10-25-2018 06:20 PM Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables A, ... Z, Z0, ..., Z9, F0, F9, ..., V0, ..., V9 etc. to 0 Hello HPPrimeTEAM and users, one of the difficulties of the HPPrime calculator, is that there is no integration between CAS and NUM/HOME mode and especially in applications, since they are using predefined variables, in addition students have problems in differentiating X with x, since X is predefined to zero, they always call me, I do not get what I expected, another student asks me if X is set to zero, because when creating the function does not evaluate it. There is no consistency in the hpprime system X [enter] returns 0 F1(X) := 8 * X - 5 This should return -5 solve((right(F1)) = 0,X,'=') returns [] // synonym of no solution. x:=0 [enter] returns 0 assume(x,symbol) // Remove the value of 0, changing the data type to symbolic x [enter] returns x F10(x) := 8 * x - 5 One solution that I propose is that the variables are predefined with 'noValue' instead of zero, in this way X + 3 [enter] in NUM/Home mode returns "Syntax error" // ok, because it can not evaluate X, X has symbolic value X + 3 [enter] in CAS mode returns X + 3 // ok because X is considered a symbolic variable then: X:=5 X + 3 [enter] in NUM/Home mode returns 8 X + 3 [enter] in CAS mode returns 8 restore(X) [enter] returns 'noValue' X + 3 [enter] in NUM/Home mode returns "Syntax error" // ok What do you think of this idea? Another Case: V1(X,Y) := (X²/3 - Y²/5 = 1); [enter] returns (X,Y)->(((X^2/3)-(Y^2/5))==1) // error (X,Y)->((X^2/3)-(Y^2/5))=1 // ok right(V1) [Enter] returns 0 // (0 synonymous of false), error because although ((X^2/3)-(Y^2/5) == 1 is false, this should not be compared, it must be interpreted as equation (X,Y) -> ((X^2/3)-(Y^2/5))=1 I do not use x in lowercase because the internal user variable V1 requires it [SYMB KEY], I also want to perform analytical [CAS], graphical [PLOT KEY] and numeric analyzes [NUM KEY] using the same definition. Thanks RE: Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables to 0 - compsystems - 11-11-2018 01:57 PM Hello, in the first code using quotation marks the expression is not evaluated, that is to say it is kept symbolic. PHP Code: #cas show X²/3 - Y²/5 = 1 0=1 in the second code, assume X as symbolic, there is no need to use ' ' this same procedure should work assuming X as noValue PHP Code: #cas show X²/3 - Y²/5 = 1 RE: Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables to 0 - Han - 11-11-2018 06:20 PM Those variables behave exactly the way they do by design. Rather than trying to change the design (which I highly doubt will ever happen as the HP Prime is several years now in the market), you would be better off using non-system variables for what you want to do. RE: Solution to the problem of pre-assigned variables to 0 - compsystems - 11-12-2018 09:07 PM Hello, Han, I do not propose to change the design, but to improve it, with the idea I propose it would be integrated NUM mode (HOME) with CAS MODE, since the idea is to use the same variables for example to expose a graphic analysis [PLOT], analysis numerical [NUM key] with symbolic analysis [CAS], simply defining the type of variable to symbolic (CAS mode) and then restart ([HOME MODE]). sample: http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-11736.html Likewise MATLAB works, this was born as a numerical software, but they incorporated the symbolic calculation engine (Maple, then MuPAD) and everything operates very well integration between NUM / CAS mode PHP Code: x=-5: 0.0001: 5; |