HP Forums
HP Prime G2 RPN use - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: HP Prime G2 RPN use (/thread-15610.html)



HP Prime G2 RPN use - Vjsilva - 09-20-2020 03:42 PM

I am a G2 newbie and I have had the G2 only about a week so forgive me if this is a stupid question.
It is a very powerful calculator for graphing and solving, but sometimes I pick it up for a quick calculation, like an HP41 and it's different.

Does the G2 have a classic RPN interface?
I don't seem to be able to do something like:
1 ENTER 2 +

It appears like the G2 requires 1 + 2 ENTER, which is not RPN

Thanks,
Victor


RE: HP Prime G2 RPN use - TheLastMillennial - 09-20-2020 05:50 PM

Press [shift]>[home] to enter settings, then select the drop down menu next to 'Entry:' and select RPN.

I don't use RPN myself, but I've heard many times that RPN on the Prime is not nearly as good as HP's previous calculators.


RE: HP Prime G2 RPN use - pinkman - 09-20-2020 07:21 PM

I like both entry modes.
For math calculations, I find that Textbook mode is better because of readability and error fixing.
For every day quick calculations, I find RPN is the best.

Well, this means I have to go to the settings every time?

No, because of this program:

Code:

KEY K_Menu()
BEGIN
 local s:={"Textbook","Algebraic","RPN"};
 Entry := ABS(Entry-2);
 TEXTOUT_P(s(Entry+1), 15,9, 1, RGB(255,180,80));
 WAIT(1);
 RETURN −1;
END;

Usage: in User keyboard mode, press Menu.
Or simply: Shift Help Menu.
It toggles from RPN to Textbook, and vice versa.

Regards.


RE: HP Prime G2 RPN use - Rigel - 09-30-2020 10:43 AM

Prime has all the RPN functionality of old HP series calcuators, no problem there.. Its programming does not include RPN commands since it's a totally different architecture.


RE: HP Prime G2 RPN use - drbarnack - 05-10-2022 06:54 PM

(09-20-2020 07:21 PM)pinkman Wrote:  I like both entry modes.
For math calculations, I find that Textbook mode is better because of readability and error fixing.
For every day quick calculations, I find RPN is the best.

Well, this means I have to go to the settings every time?

No, because of this program:

Code:

KEY K_Menu()
BEGIN
 local s:={"Textbook","Algebraic","RPN"};
 Entry := ABS(Entry-2);
 TEXTOUT_P(s(Entry+1), 15,9, 1, RGB(255,180,80));
 WAIT(1);
 RETURN −1;
END;

Usage: in User keyboard mode, press Menu.
Or simply: Shift Help Menu.
It toggles from RPN to Textbook, and vice versa.

Regards.

This is exactly what I was looking for, thanks!