GET - picking an element of a list - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: GET - picking an element of a list (/thread-15777.html) |
GET - picking an element of a list - pinkman - 10-22-2020 10:24 PM Hi, The list object is a good paradigm to return more than a value in a program, eventually of various types. Well because the Prime is not a RPL calculator, there cannot be an OBJ-> function. My question is: how to pick an element of a list, in the Home view ? First approach: manually edit the given list, to copy or isolate the needed element. Not really clever. Second approach: assign the list to a var, then use direct addressing on that var. LL:={2,4,6,8} LL(3) (Result: 6) This is a good approach, but most of the time we don’t need a persistent var to handle a single value. Third approach (my favorite, but... see #4): using Ans {1,2,3,4}*2 Ans(3) (Result: 6) Good approach also, but your list is not always in Ans. Fourth approach, object of this post: using the GET function, if Ans doesn’t handle your list, and you just want to pick the list in the history. GET({2,4,6,8},3) (Result: 6) Well good but... there is no GET function! Don’t panic, here it is: Code:
What are your tricks? Regards, Thibault RE: GET - picking an element of a list - StephenG1CMZ - 10-22-2020 10:53 PM Good solution. You may be interested in my collection of other List routines here. https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-9411.html RE: GET - picking an element of a list - pinkman - 10-23-2020 09:28 PM Widely complete! The conversation in this thread points the problem of subdivisions or packages in the catalog view. |