Suppress command output. - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: Suppress command output. (/thread-16931.html) |
Suppress command output. - t_angenbrandt - 05-13-2021 08:04 AM Good morning. Is it possible to suppress command outputs (e.g. like in matlab, where one uses a semicolon at the end of a command)? The issue is that while working with giant matrices or CAS results from integrals that normally would fill multiple lines on a sheet of paper, the calculator is busy rendering the results instead of doing useful calculation; I am not interested in the outputs of the commands (e.g. I simply store the result of a program function in some variable to work with it). If there is no way, maybe I can do something like write a function that takes a command, executes it and stores the result in a variable without producing a return value no? Can I pass a function with all its arguments as an argument like that: suppress(var, func(a,b,c,d,e,f)) or would that not be possible? Kind regards RE: Suppress command output. - Albert Chan - 05-13-2021 11:40 AM zero(x) := 0 Cas> zero(m:=makemat((j,k)->j+k,3,2)) → 0 Cas> zero(m := transpose(m)) → 0 Cas> m → [[2,3,4],[3,4,5]] RE: Suppress command output. - t_angenbrandt - 05-13-2021 07:25 PM (05-13-2021 11:40 AM)Albert Chan Wrote: zero(x) := 0 A godsend. Why did I not see this. RE: Suppress command output. - Albert Chan - 07-16-2021 01:47 AM XCas suppressing output shortcut ":;" also work in HP Prime emulator. CAS> m := makemat((j,k)->j+k,3,2) :; → "Done" |