HP Forums
python program with formatted input and output - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: python program with formatted input and output (/thread-17126.html)



python program with formatted input and output - Liamtoh Resu - 06-18-2021 03:37 AM

Here is a simple prime python program that features formatted input and output statements.

It just averages three values entered by a user.

Code:

#PYTHON name
# avg3nr03
import math
def pintro():
  print("average three numbers")

def enter_3():
   a,b,c = input("a,b,c? ").split(",")
   print(" " + a + ", " + b + ", " + c)
   return (float(a)+ float(b) + float(c))/3

  
def pout():
   q = enter_3()
   print("the average is {0:.5f}".format(q))
   
pintro()

pout()

#end 
 
EXPORT avg3nr03()
BEGIN
  PRINT;
  PYTHON(name);
END;

I included this code in another thread but I thought it might get buried
for another user looking for the formated input and output.

Thanks.


RE: python program with formatted input and output - toml_12953 - 06-18-2021 02:08 PM

(06-18-2021 03:37 AM)Liamtoh Resu Wrote:  Here is a simple prime python program that features formatted input and output statements.

It just averages three values entered by a user.

Code:


   print("the average is {0:.5f}".format(q))

I included this code in another thread but I thought it might get buried
for another user looking for the formated input and output.

Thanks.

The above won't work on my Prime. I need to use the older format statement something like this:

Code:
print("the average is %.5f" %(q))



RE: python program with formatted input and output - Liamtoh Resu - 06-18-2021 04:36 PM

Hmm, this is puzzling for me. I just double checked the prime python code.

The program runs fine there. I will try your format statement.

I have the 20210505 firmware on the prime g2. It has CAS version 1.5.0
with the operating system version being 2.060.650.

....

And I just made a new version with your print statement.

Both versions worked on the prime G2.


Thanks.