function graphing - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: function graphing (/thread-20393.html) |
function graphing - Quadratica - 08-25-2023 10:30 PM I have defined a function in CAS: angle(x,a)=(a*tan(x+a))+(a-sin(a*x)) I input x and a and it gives the expected answer. is there a way to directly graph angle(x,2) or angle(x,-1) etc without manually changing 'a' in the definition of angle(x,a) ? changing 'a' in the definition is tedious if I want to plot several graphs for different 'a' . RE: function graphing - Corruptissima - 08-26-2023 09:53 AM One way to graph equations in CAS home is to use plotfunc command. For your sample equation (a*tan(x+a))+(a-sin(a*x)), you can type in plotfunc((a*tan(x+a))+(a-sin(a*x))|a=-1) etc. It will show a small graph in CAS home. if you select the graph and then touch the Show soft menu then a full-screen graph will be shown. You can double tap on plotfunc((a*tan(x+a))+(a-sin(a*x))|a=-1) to copy on to the command line then press esc key and then modify just the a= to another value and plot another graph. Altenatively, use this simple program called pfn. [attachment=12452][attachment=12453] [code] #cas // Using plotfunc command to plot a function // in CAS home pfn(a):= BEGIN plotfunc((a*tan(x+a))+(a-sin(a*x))) END; #end Using above program you can simply type pfn(-1) etc RE: function graphing - BruceH - 08-26-2023 11:23 AM You can use the 'where' function (the vertical bar symbol - |) to assign a temporary value to a variable in an expression. For example, in the Function app in degrees mode:
Note that the variable 'a' needs to have been created before you can use it in a where value. RE: function graphing - Quadratica - 08-26-2023 05:25 PM Thanks for those two suggestions, both worked like a treat ! |