[Free42] RTN Stack Full - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: Not HP Calculators (/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: Not quite HP Calculators - but related (/forum-8.html) +--- Thread: [Free42] RTN Stack Full (/thread-21163.html) |
[Free42] RTN Stack Full - Thomas Klemm - 01-14-2024 10:29 PM I used pl0_hp42s.py to compile this recursive PL/0 program to calculate the factorial of a number \(n\): Code: VAR n,f; This is the result: Code: GTO 00 # main To my surprise it worked using Free42. To analyse it further, I reduced the program to: Code: 00 { 19-Byte Prgm } You can run it with any integer number from 0 to 1023 and will get \(\pi\). However, with 1024 you will get an error message: RTN Stack Full In HISTORY I found the following remark: Quote: On a real HP-42S or an HP-41C the program would stop at line 09 when all return addresses are consumed. Instead of \(\pi\) it would display \(0\). In case of the fact program from above the following lines are not executed: Code: RCL 02 # f Therefore the result is not displayed. Conclusion For any meaningful program, recursion doesn't work on a real HP-42S. However, if the target machine is Free42, it can be used within the limitation of 1024 stack levels. RE: [Free42] RTN Stack Full - Thomas Okken - 01-14-2024 11:20 PM I should point out that the RTN stack in Free42 and Plus42 is dynamic, so it's not a fixed 1024-entry array, and it could be allowed to grow to more than 1024 levels. The reason I put in the 1024-level limit is to provide a graceful failure mode for programs with infinite recursion bugs. I could make the limit user-configurable, but there hasn't seemed to be a reason to do so yet. RE: [Free42] RTN Stack Full - Thomas Klemm - 01-15-2024 12:17 AM In this case we can easily eliminate the tail-call by replacing the XEQ with a GTO command. This makes it effectively a while-loop. IIRC Python uses a similar limit but it can be configured. If it is not a big effort, then why not? OTOH I will probably never need it. Apart from recursion, 6 stack levels has been enough for me. RE: [Free42] RTN Stack Full - Thomas Okken - 01-15-2024 02:14 AM (01-15-2024 12:17 AM)Thomas Klemm Wrote: IIRC Python uses a similar limit but it can be configured. I think I rejected the idea originally because adding a field in the Preferences dialog is such a hassle. But then again, if I make it a setting in the MODES menu, it won't affect the shell at all, and then the coding effort is minimal. Hmm... (01-15-2024 12:17 AM)Thomas Klemm Wrote: OTOH I will probably never need it. Indeed. I implemented the dynamic RTN stack (and LSTO) specifically to support recursive programming. Though they turned out to be useful for equations in Plus42 as well. |