HP Forums
Binomial Distribution Graphing - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Binomial Distribution Graphing (/thread-22118.html)

Binomial Distribution Graphing - vesph - 08-03-2024 08:22 AM

Hi all,

I'm a high school student from Australia recently introduced to the HP Prime.
Currently we are studying probability and and the rest of my peers use Casio and Texas Instruments calculators, whilst the Prime, although remarkably fast and a joy to use, does have a program to parametrically graph a binomial distribution (as far as I can tell).

I have been attempting to learn to create my own program to do this, however I have made little progress aside from performing simple callable functions, and am unable to graph anything.

I'd love support and resources to make progress on this; I'm barely familiar with the calculator and most of the resources I've had access to are from the old generation prime.

I find my self way out of my depth here, and getting desperate as I have exams soon and will need this ASAP.

Thanks in advance,
- vesph

RE: Binomial Distribution Graphing - john gustaf stebbins - 08-03-2024 11:26 PM

The Statistics 1Var app has good graphing modes that might work. You can use MAKELIST and BINOMIAL to create the distribution. For example, 5 choices with 0.4 probability can be generated by:

MAKELIST(BINOMIAL(5,0.4,X),X,0,5)

Store this list into one of the app variables (D1 to D0) and then go into the Symb and Plot screens to generate your graph. A bar plot looks pretty good (I couldn't get the image to post here).

There are lots of ways to approach this on the Prime, but this is simple.

RE: Binomial Distribution Graphing - vesph - 08-04-2024 10:58 AM