How to time a DM42 program? - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: Not HP Calculators (/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: Not quite HP Calculators - but related (/forum-8.html) +--- Thread: How to time a DM42 program? (/thread-22388.html) |
How to time a DM42 program? - toml_12953 - 09-23-2024 09:12 PM I'd like to run benchmark tests between a DM42 and a DM42n. In order to do this, I'd like to time the benchmark programatically rather than rely on my shaky hands to operate a stopwatch. Is there a way to do that? Here's how it's done in ANSI BASIC Code: T=TIMER RE: How to time a DM42 program? - Steve Simpkin - 09-23-2024 09:47 PM A program like the following *may* work. Replace step 04 with a XEQ to the program you want to time. I used PSE as a test for a 1 second execution time. The resulting execution time with be in the format HH.MMSSss so the resolution is .01 seconds 00 { 15-Byte Prgm } 01▸LBL "TMG" 02 TIME 03 STO 00 04 PSE 05 TIME 06 RCL 00 07 HMS- 08 END Edit: Fixed step 07. RE: How to time a DM42 program? - Didier Lachieze - 09-23-2024 09:51 PM At step 07, HMS- would likely give a better result than - RE: How to time a DM42 program? - Steve Simpkin - 09-23-2024 10:39 PM (09-23-2024 09:51 PM)Didier Lachieze Wrote: At step 07, HMS- would likely give a better result than - Yes, I missed that. Thank you. 00 { 15-Byte Prgm } 01▸LBL "TMG" 02 TIME 03 STO 00 04 PSE 05 TIME 06 RCL 00 07 HMS- 08 END RE: How to time a DM42 program? - Werner - 09-23-2024 10:47 PM This is what I use. Name of routine in ALPHA, returns time in seconds. Code: 00 { 37-Byte Prgm } Cheers, Werner RE: How to time a DM42 program? - toml_12953 - 09-24-2024 10:27 PM Thank you to all who answered! I am now able to time programs automatically. I'll put this to good use when my DM42n arrives. Actually, the DM42 comes up with an index of over 1500 in the Calculator Performance Index benchmark which is pretty darn good. https://www.thimet.de/CalcCollection/CalcPerformance.html |