HP Forums
[SOLVED] Newest fw INPUT syntax? - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] Newest fw INPUT syntax? (/thread-7442.html)



[SOLVED] Newest fw INPUT syntax? - chromos - 12-19-2016 12:18 AM

1) Please, do you anybody know which is new syntax for INPUT command? I need store expressions, something like A+B or G-K/L etc. It worked in previous fw, but I am unable understand current syntax - I tried "everything", but everytime I get orange exclamation mark and programm is still on INPUT screen.

2) Is there alternative to lname command in Home?

Thank you very much.


RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax? - Han - 12-19-2016 02:24 AM

(12-19-2016 12:18 AM)chromos Wrote:  1) Please, do you anybody know which is new syntax for INPUT command? I need store expressions, something like A+B or G-K/L etc. It worked in previous fw, but I am unable understand current syntax - I tried "everything", but everytime I get orange exclamation mark and programm is still on INPUT screen.

2) Is there alternative to lname command in Home?

Thank you very much.

It helps to share a snippet of your code so we can help debug.


RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax? - chromos - 12-19-2016 02:58 AM

OK, this worked until fw update to latest release:

PHP Code:
INPUT(Temp,[2],"Expression","Variables must be in UPPERCASE! (e.g. A+B-4)"); 

I tried many variations of [2] - with different parentheses, even without them, at different places - with no success.

That line code is line # 293 from Geo Coords Solver:
http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-5361-post-48133.html#pid48133


RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax? - DrD - 12-19-2016 11:18 AM

Did you create local variable Temp, first?

Would this adaptation be of any use to you?

Code:

EXPORT test()
BEGIN
  LOCAL Temp;

//  INPUT(Temp,[2],"Expression","Variables must be in UPPERCASE! (e.g. A+B-4)"); 

  INPUT(
         { {Temp, [2], {25,74,3} } }, 
         "Resolve Expression",
         "Expression",
         "Variables must be in UPPERCASE! (e.g. A+B-4)",
         "",
         ""
       );

  RETURN Temp;
END;

-Dale-


RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax? - Tim Wessman - 12-19-2016 04:56 PM

(12-19-2016 12:18 AM)chromos Wrote:  1) Please, do you anybody know which is new syntax for INPUT command? I need store expressions, something like A+B or G-K/L etc. It worked in previous fw, but I am unable understand current syntax - I tried "everything", but everytime I get orange exclamation mark and programm is still on INPUT screen.

It seems to work fine for me here (provided Temp has been defined as pointed out).

Quote:2) Is there alternative to lname command in Home?

LNAME is also a home command. Takes an expression 'X^2+Y' for example, and returns { X, Y }. Does that do what you want?

If none of the answers given seem to help you, please post some snippets so we can see and help more.


RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax? - chromos - 12-19-2016 06:00 PM

Your example works, thank you very much, Dale.


RE: Newest fw INPUT syntax? - chromos - 12-19-2016 06:04 PM

Thank you Tim for your advice about LNAME command in Home. I was almost sure I saw it somewhere in the past, but I didn't remember single quotes.

Both my questions are solved now.