HP-65 Question - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: General Forum (/forum-4.html) +--- Thread: HP-65 Question (/thread-8080.html) |
HP-65 Question - Greg - 03-31-2017 08:16 PM The HP-65 only supports one layer of subroutines. You can call one from a main program but you shouldn't call another from there. The HP-65 Owners Manual says, if you do call lower level subroutines, the first RTN will take you back to the main program. That suggests that starting with 0.00 in X and pressing [D] in the following: PHP Code: 001: 23 : LBL will produce (6 + 4 + 2 + 1 + 7 +) 20. Does anyone have a physical HP-65 that can confirm that for me? RE: HP-65 Question - Brad Barton - 03-31-2017 10:47 PM (03-31-2017 08:16 PM)Greg Wrote: will produce (6 + 4 + 2 + 1 + 7 +) 20. Yes, the result is 20 on a physical 65. As you suspected, when the program encountered the RTN in the A subroutine, it was sent back to finish up the originally executed D subroutine, rather than run sequentially through the other subs. Brad RE: HP-65 Question - teenix - 03-31-2017 11:33 PM (03-31-2017 10:47 PM)Brad Barton Wrote:(03-31-2017 08:16 PM)Greg Wrote: will produce (6 + 4 + 2 + 1 + 7 +) 20. Oops, I missed that point in the 65 manual. I rewrote the 65 emulator's Mark and Search code to manage the subroutines in the same way. The emulator now returns 20 as well. cheers Tony RE: HP-65 Question - Greg - 04-01-2017 12:59 AM Wow that was fast Tony. I haven't even put up the fix I developed for mine yet, as I wanted to confirm the behaviour on the real thing first. I'd noticed the problem on other emulators too. Yours always looks so good. RE: HP-65 Question - teenix - 04-01-2017 02:34 AM (04-01-2017 12:59 AM)Greg Wrote: Wow that was fast Tony. I haven't even put up the fix I developed for mine yet, as I wanted to confirm the behaviour on the real thing first. Hi Greg, Thanks It's been awhile since I got the 65 working so it was a bit of a brain strain remembering how the code for the program buffer worked :-) Just now, I had to upload again because I forgot to update the PICmicro code for the 65 hardware emulator as well. Cheers Tony RE: HP-65 Question - Brad Barton - 04-01-2017 03:30 AM Amazing response! Thanks for updating the app so quickly. Brad |