Basic INPUT help - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: Basic INPUT help (/thread-8081.html) |
Basic INPUT help - AngryNapkin - 04-01-2017 01:00 AM I am trying to create a basic input. Here is what I got: EXPORT TEST() BEGIN LOCAL A; INPUT({{A,[1]}},"TEST"," INTEGER INPUT:") END; I want to limit the inputs to integers only, and not floats, however when I try to enter anything into the box, I get "Invalid Input". What am I not understanding here? RE: Basic INPUT help - Giancarlo - 04-01-2017 09:33 AM Hello, With os version 10637 it didn't work for me as well. . It worked with type 2 (strings) and type 0 (reals) not with type 1 (integers). Thanks RE: Basic INPUT help - Didier Lachieze - 04-01-2017 10:17 AM It works but you have to enter the integer with a # prefix and an optional base suffix (d,b,o,h). RE: Basic INPUT help - AngryNapkin - 04-01-2017 04:13 PM Ok. Well that seems counter intuitive. I wanted to use the input form as a easy way to input values and work on them, using the filter type of integer seems like a waste if you have to enter a #d for each enter instead of just entering a integer. I thought it would be an easy way to protect against non integer values. Leaving it open to all types will be fine for now until I get more familiar with this programing language. RE: Basic INPUT help - AngryNapkin - 04-01-2017 04:31 PM Well let me ask some advice, because this relates to my other question I posted with the solve() not working right. Basically I am trying to make a simple INPUT dialog that updates every time the user enters some values. I have the INPUT running in a while loop. When the number are input, the variables get worked on, and re updated, and the loop restarts, populating the INPUT with the new values. I wanted to use the simple solve() command to solve for one of three values. For example While INPUT({A,B,C},"Test Input) > 0 DO // Some testing here to find which solve() line to run solve(A+B=C,A)sto>A solve(A+B=C,A)sto>B solve(A+B=C,A)sto>C END; So basically, i check to see witch value needs updating, and based on the other two, the solve() finds the answer. This is a crude example, but about as simple as I need. I know there is the Solver which does work, but I was trying to get this to work in a program without the need to have to enter a formula first and then run the Solver. Is there an easier way to go about this? RE: Basic INPUT help - Tim Wessman - 04-06-2017 05:28 PM (04-01-2017 04:13 PM)AngryNapkin Wrote: Ok. Well that seems counter intuitive. I wanted to use the input form as a easy way to input values and work on them, using the filter type of integer seems like a waste if you have to enter a #d for each enter instead of just entering a integer. "integers" in home refer to a fixed size, specific base encoded value more akin to a lower lever computer register value. For example, you can have a 16 bit, signed, octal number and similar things. |