Size of a list passed to a function? - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: Size of a list passed to a function? (/thread-8162.html) |
Size of a list passed to a function? - toml_12953 - 04-14-2017 12:30 PM I'm trying to get the size of a list passed to a function. I've tried this: PHP Code: EXPORT dimension(mylist) and PHP Code: EXPORT dimension(mylist) but neither works although SIZE does work from the Home screen. Tom L RE: Size of a list passed to a function? - Tyann - 04-14-2017 12:43 PM PHP Code: EXPORT dimension(mylist) Works for me on the physical machine. RE: Size of a list passed to a function? - toml_12953 - 04-14-2017 02:17 PM (04-14-2017 12:43 PM)Tyann Wrote: I over simplified my program. I'm shooting for a program to automatically create a multi-dimensional list and am hoping to use a variable number of dimensions. Right now, I have to create a loop for each dimension. Here's a better sample. It works for a fixed number of dimensions if I take out the PRINT. PHP Code: EXPORT dimension(varname,mylist) RE: Size of a list passed to a function? - cyrille de brébisson - 04-14-2017 02:29 PM Hello, What are you passing as a parameter to the dimention function? Cyrille RE: Size of a list passed to a function? - toml_12953 - 04-14-2017 02:42 PM (04-14-2017 02:29 PM)cyrille de brébisson Wrote: Hello, I'm calling it like this: As I said, it works fine if I take out the PRINT. dimension(L1,{4,3,5}) Tom L RE: Size of a list passed to a function? - Didier Lachieze - 04-14-2017 02:58 PM (04-14-2017 02:17 PM)toml_12953 Wrote: I'm shooting for a program to automatically create a multi-dimensional list and am hoping to use a variable number of dimensions. This will create recursively a multi-dimensional list whose dimensions are passed as a list and initialized with 0: Code: EXPORT dimension(mylist) dimension({3,2,2}) returns {{{0,0},{0,0}},{{0,0},{0,0}},{{0,0},{0,0}}} RE: Size of a list passed to a function? - toml_12953 - 04-14-2017 03:20 PM (04-14-2017 02:58 PM)Didier Lachieze Wrote:(04-14-2017 02:17 PM)toml_12953 Wrote: I'm shooting for a program to automatically create a multi-dimensional list and am hoping to use a variable number of dimensions. Very elegant! As usual, I try to do things the hard way. Thank you for saving me a lot of work! Tom L |