Can programs have optional arguments? - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: Can programs have optional arguments? (/thread-9017.html) |
Can programs have optional arguments? - webmasterpdx - 09-09-2017 01:56 AM Is it possible to write programs with optional arguments with default values? If so, what is the syntax? Thx -Donald RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - Carlos295pz - 09-09-2017 02:52 AM It is not possible, it is very related to define polymorphic functions and that is not possible in HP PPL, the alternatives can be to create 2 independent functions, or send a parameter that determines the different type of action you want to have on the data sent. RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - Joe Horn - 09-09-2017 04:09 AM Another option, although awkward, is possible: Make the input a string, and then parse the string yourself in your program. RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - webmasterpdx - 09-09-2017 05:13 AM Thank you RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - Tyann - 09-09-2017 03:34 PM Bonjour J'ai déja fait ce genre de choses en utilisant une liste pour transmettre/recevoir les paramètres. Hello I've already done this sort of thing using a list for transmit / receive parameters. RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - webmasterpdx - 09-09-2017 10:07 PM I'm thinking like a function that has: func(a,b,[c]), like some of the library functions.... You can create 2 functions but you can't do it like this: EXPORT func(a,b,c=0) ... I don't see how a list lets you do this...? Thx -D RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - Tyann - 09-10-2017 05:35 AM Bonjour, Hello Par exemple : For exemple : Code:
Func({10,15,2}) -> c=2 Func({10,15}) -> c=0 C'est un peu artisanal mais cela fonctionne. It's a little crafty but it works. Si il y a plusieurs arguments optionnels et d'autres obligatoires vous pouvez mixer. If there are several optional arguments and mandatory others you can mix. Code:
Espérant vous avoir aidé. Hoping you helped. RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - cyrille de brébisson - 09-11-2017 05:13 AM Hello, PPL does not support this for user functions. sorry. You can "emulate" it (as suggesteed before) either by creating 2 distinct functions (func2 and func3, for respectivly 2 and 3 args for example) and/or by the use of a list of input parameters. Cyrille RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - parisse - 09-11-2017 04:52 PM Giac has support for default parameters, for example Code: f(x=3):=x*x; f(); f(5) RE: Can programs have optional arguments? - webmasterpdx - 09-11-2017 08:24 PM Good! |