Solve a System of complex equatoins - Printable Version +- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum) +-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html) +--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html) +--- Thread: Solve a System of complex equatoins (/thread-9214.html) |
Solve a System of complex equatoins - kitsunekatari - 10-03-2017 07:16 AM Hey everyone, new here obviously. Just purchased an HP Prime, coming from a TI89. Still trying to get used to the new syntax and commands. How do I solve a system of complex equations? such as; -12+(-i4+i5)*A-i3*B (12+i6)*B-i3*A In the ti8 it was csolve( {-12+(-i4+i5)*A-i3*B,(12+i6)*B-i3*A},{A,B} ) But this is not the case with the HP Prime. Thoughts? Thank you! RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - toshk - 10-03-2017 06:59 PM In CAS: try fsolve({-12+(-4*+5*)*A-3**B,(12+6*)*B-3**A},{'A','B'}) [/code] RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - Tim Wessman - 10-03-2017 07:53 PM What is the significance of i4, i5, etc? Is it something specific or just "a variable"? RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - parisse - 10-03-2017 07:55 PM csolve should work. Beware that fsolve is approx. RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - primer - 10-04-2017 08:24 PM Hello (10-03-2017 07:16 AM)kitsunekatari Wrote: How do I solve a system of complex equations? Please first note those are not equations, also important : on cas, you must use lowercase variable, I added "=0" to have equations, and tried it : csolve({-12+(4i+5i)*a-3i*b=0, (12+6i)*b-3i*a=0}, {a,b}) I got { (-16-8i)/(5-12i) , -4i/(5-12*i) } RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - Carsen - 10-04-2017 10:23 PM Not necessary. I used capital letter "A" & "B" with csolve in CAS mode on the HP Prime and got the same answer as Primer. RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - AlexFekken - 10-05-2017 02:19 AM Perhaps not necessary but perhaps it should. Expressions aren't equations, evaluating is not solving, etc. I wouldn't mind if functions like the various *solve functions would generate an exception when being given an expression rather than an equation... It might actually prevent a lot of user errors at the "expense" of a trivial amount of overhead. RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - kitsunekatari - 10-05-2017 02:57 AM (10-03-2017 07:53 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote: What is the significance of i4, i5, etc? Is it something specific or just "a variable"? They are imaginary. Standard syntax in EE is to use j followed by the quantity of said unit, in this case, Ohms. Thank you everyone for your input. I am just trying to get used to the different syntax. In the 89, variables were variables, you put in x, it returns x, unless a value is stored in said variable. In the Prime, you put in A, or X, it returns 0 because nothing is stored in it. So sometimes it's hard to check to see if an equation simplifies correctly. RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - Joe Horn - 10-05-2017 03:12 AM Most HP solvers, including cSolve, assume "=0" if the input expression is not an equation. You don't have to include it yourself. Prime's help screen for cSolve even says so explicitly: HP Wrote:Syntax: (10-05-2017 02:19 AM)AlexFekken Wrote: Perhaps not necessary but perhaps it should. Expressions aren't equations, evaluating is not solving, etc. There's actually a reason for it working this way. The solvers treat "=" as "-" and solve the resulting expression (which is not an equation) for equality to zero. That being the case, it's more efficient for both the user and the calculator to omit "=0" from the input. RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - AlexFekken - 10-05-2017 04:48 AM (10-05-2017 03:12 AM)Joe Horn Wrote: There's actually a reason for it working this way. The solvers treat "=" as "-" and solve the resulting expression (which is not an equation) for equality to zero. That being the case, it's more efficient for both the user and the calculator to omit "=0" from the input.I get the convenience of it, but I guess I am too much of a mathematician to appreciate the sloppiness. And a C programmer would probably argue that "!= 0" must have been omitted :-) RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - toml_12953 - 10-05-2017 05:55 PM (10-05-2017 04:48 AM)AlexFekken Wrote:(10-05-2017 03:12 AM)Joe Horn Wrote: There's actually a reason for it working this way. The solvers treat "=" as "-" and solve the resulting expression (which is not an equation) for equality to zero. That being the case, it's more efficient for both the user and the calculator to omit "=0" from the input.I get the convenience of it, but I guess I am too much of a mathematician to appreciate the sloppiness. And a C programmer would probably argue that "!= 0" must have been omitted :-) in most computer languages you can do this: if x then... and the language assumes you mean if x<>0 then... RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - AlexFekken - 10-06-2017 07:44 AM (10-05-2017 05:55 PM)toml_12953 Wrote: in most computer languages you can do this: Exactly my point: it does *not* mean "if x = 0 then ..." RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - primer - 10-06-2017 02:56 PM (10-05-2017 02:57 AM)kitsunekatari Wrote: In the Prime, you put in A, or X, it returns 0 because nothing is stored in it. So sometimes it's hard to check to see if an equation simplifies correctly. in the prime, that's easy too : go to CAS mode, and use lowercase Then you will see x will be x, not 0. RE: Solve a System of complex equatoins - toml_12953 - 10-07-2017 04:35 AM (10-06-2017 07:44 AM)AlexFekken Wrote:(10-05-2017 05:55 PM)toml_12953 Wrote: in most computer languages you can do this: You're right. It's not very consistent, is it? |