HP Forums
Please post your FREEZE problems... - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Please post your FREEZE problems... (/thread-9654.html)



Please post your FREEZE problems... - Tim Wessman - 12-08-2017 05:31 PM

If you feel you have a problem with FREEZE, please post your code. I have investigated this and not found any issues that I can see. Thanks!

Note, FREEZE does not pause and stop. The only thing it does is flag the screen to not redraw next pass through the main loop. If something triggers it outside of the clock (which it handles and avoids drawing in a clock redraw situation) then it will draw.


RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - Carlos295pz - 12-08-2017 05:35 PM

Code:
EXPORT Test
BEGIN
  RECT;
  FREEZE;
END;



RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - toml_12953 - 12-08-2017 05:54 PM

(12-08-2017 05:31 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  If you feel you have a problem with FREEZE, please post your code. I have investigated this and not found any issues that I can see. Thanks!

Note, FREEZE does not pause and stop. The only thing it does is flag the screen to not redraw next pass through the main loop. If something triggers it outside of the clock (which it handles and avoids drawing in a clock redraw situation) then it will draw.

FREEZE never keeps the graphics displayed at the end of a program. Any program that displays graphics and ends with FREEZE will show you the problem. FREEZE used to keep the graphic displayed until the user pressed any key. Now the graphic flashes on the screen and the program ends.


RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - Tim Wessman - 12-08-2017 06:31 PM

You mean when executed from the program catalog? Or some other place?


RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - toml_12953 - 12-08-2017 07:17 PM

(12-08-2017 06:31 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  You mean when executed from the program catalog? Or some other place?

Either by executing from the catalog or typing the name at the Homes screen.


RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - Tim Wessman - 12-08-2017 07:27 PM

Ok - found it.

The problem was that it didn't for all platforms always behave this way and you'd have to do something to get the misbehavior to start. If you connected to the connkit on windows for example was the only way to get the misbehavior. It would then continue after. On the mac, it would redraw 1 time a second or so roughly causing it to appear to not be working.

Thanks!


RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - compsystems - 12-10-2017 02:08 PM

the program freezes or crashes.
http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-7729.html?highlight=connectivity

Another problem with the HPCK is that the program editor the tabulation character shows many spaces, the tabulation in python-type codes is important

PHP Code:
#cas
def fractal_python(W,H,N):
    
local x,y,z,c,j,t,col
    
for x in range(W):
        for 
y in range(H):
            
z=0
            c
=2.7*x/(W-1)-2.1-i*(1.87*y/(H-1)-.935)
            
j=0
            
while j<and abs(z)<2:
                
j=j+1
                z
=z*z+c
            
//end while
            
t=255j/N
            col
=RGB(IP(t),IP(.75*t),IP(.25*t))
            
PIXON_P(x,y,col)
        
//end for
    //end for
    
FREEZE
    WAIT
(0)
#end 



RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - Dirk.nl - 12-10-2017 02:55 PM

Compsystem, what has “the program editor the tabulation character“ to do with FREEZE ???


RE: Please post your FREEZE problems... - Carlos295pz - 12-10-2017 03:55 PM

The problem with FREEZE has been perfectly described by Tim, I do not think it necessary to extend the thread