review of WP 34s
05-22-2018, 12:49 AM (This post was last modified: 05-22-2018 01:16 AM by gomefun2.)
review of WP 34s
DISCLAIMER: I AM NEW TO THIS CALCULATOR, I HAVE SLOWLY ENJOYED USING THIS CALCULATOR MORE OVER TIME, LIKELY MY OPINION WILL IMPROVE OVER TIME (though my opinion isn't that bad right now).

If you are interested in this calculator try the emulator to make your own opinion of it.

My previous HP calculator experiences are with the HP 35s, and a little bit with FREE42. I really like the HP 42s, it was a very nice calculator.

Brief review: The WP 34s has the steepest learning curve of any calculator I have ever used (by far). It almost feels like a calculator designed for calculator designers. It has an incredible number of things it can do but lacks a large memory to store several complicated programs (though I am sure most people will be happy with the amount of storage). This calculator isn't meant for easy equation solving (It is not pick up and play at all (except for basic RPN calculations)). It is meant (ONLY) for repetitive tasks that can be programmed and it is a standard RPN scientific calculator besides this.

Limitations: This calculator is limited because it does not have a symbolic MISO (Multiple Input Single Output) Solver. This is the feature I use scientific calculators for more than anything else. To program a basic symbolic MISO solver is quite an undertaking (whereas on the HP35s and the HP42s it is simply a matter of typing in an equation with the associated symbolic variables and constants). There is also a limitation when putting in long numbers into a program (if you wanted 3.1415 as a single line in the code this isn't possible, though it is possible to put the number in, it isn't as straightforward as other more recent HP calculators (and takes several lines of code)).