My Newbie Question
01-30-2019, 04:45 PM
My Newbie Question
I’m a Pure Mathematician who is rubbish with anything requiring some electronic or practical application, so please excuse my naive question.
I’ve just finished restoring a Sharp PC-1500A with an attached CE-150 Printer/Case.
After scouring the house for my Bush tape cassette to store programs on it, I found it but the tape counter has stopped working.
It crossed my mind that I have 2 working Sony Minidisc Player with 10 new disks.
Could I take my Mic and Ear from the CE-150 into the Sony Minidisc and store and Retrieve my basic programs on the Sony instead of a tape cassette or are we looking at anologue to digital mis-match in storing the generated basic program .wav file?
Thanks
Dennis

Denny Tuckerman
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-30-2019, 06:01 PM
RE: My Newbie Question
You can try, it might work.

If it doesn't, though, you won't really know if it's down to the interface or if it's the MD recorder introducing too many compression-related artefacts.

This said, my intuition says that it should work because, after all, the signal output by the interface is nothing more than two alternating frequencies.

Also, you might have issues with the output level of the MD being too low.

As I said, just suck it and see. You won't damage the interface or the MD unit.
Find all posts by this user
01-31-2019, 09:38 AM (This post was last modified: 01-31-2019 09:39 AM by toml_12953.)
(01-30-2019 04:45 PM)Leviset Wrote:  I’m a Pure Mathematician who is rubbish with anything requiring some electronic or practical application, so please excuse my naive question.
I’ve just finished restoring a Sharp PC-1500A with an attached CE-150 Printer/Case.
After scouring the house for my Bush tape cassette to store programs on it, I found it but the tape counter has stopped working.
It crossed my mind that I have 2 working Sony Minidisc Player with 10 new disks.