Something a little different: A palmtop as a healthcare patient
05-04-2014, 08:17 PM
Something a little different: A palmtop as a healthcare patient
I'm sure you all know me as a big fan of the HP 200LX palmtop computer and its siblings. Even though I work in IT with fairly large modern database systems and development environments on a regular basis, and drool over the latest tablets and portables (I'm composing this from my iPad Air, in fact), I still have tremendous respect for what the HP team achieved 20 years ago with their DOS-based palmtop line, namely the 200LX. Frankly, I don't think this model has been topped yet.

I've been exposed to HP the palmtops since the mid '90s, when my dad obtained a 1 MB 95LX from his employer, and I've since often pondered what I find so appealing about them, and why they seem so perfectly suited for any job. I think what it really boils down to is a very flexible and well-integrated system of applications that allow for tight workflow customization without needing to be an expert coder. For the expert coders, the sky's the limit when you get your favorite BASIC/Pascal/C involved.

As a sort of weird nostolgia for a time period that I wasn't ever really on the front-line of anyway, what with being born in 1982, I frequently find myself browsing the archives of the Palmtop Paper, appreciating the efficient, real work that thousands of users had tailored their own machines for, and sometimes picking up a few tips for myself. This was the heydey of personal information management, in contrast to today's internet-connected world of global information management.