JPL Prime: An ASCII Space Game.
02-21-2019, 12:43 AM (This post was last modified: 02-27-2019 12:06 AM by TheLastMillennial.)
JPL Prime: An ASCII Space Game.
Since I'm new to the Prime Programming Language, for my first project I decided to port one of my own programs that I made for the TI 84 Plus CE, JPL. JPL game was actually the very first game I ever programmed on a calculator; it was a much simpler version though, not nearly as complex as the current version which placed third in the 2017 Cemetech Program of the Year!
Anyways, this game consists of a preset rocket sprite and the goal is to go through as many checkpoints as possible. The longer you survive, the more points you get.

It's an early version, but here's what I have so far (I apologize for the low GIF frame rate):
[Image: 4Pce1UM.gif]
P.S. What's the best way to take GIF captures? I saw a screen capture option but it only took stills.

Here's a Github repository!

Todo list:
Make background black
Make 'stars' to make it seem like you're traveling through space
Make checkpoints gradually speed up

Make better graphics
Add touchscreen support (possibly drag support)

Cemetech | YouTube
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-21-2019, 05:15 AM
RE: JPL Prime: An ASCII Space Game.
(02-21-2019 12:43 AM)TheLastMillennial Wrote:  P.S. What's the best way to take GIF captures? I saw a screen capture option but it only took stills.

https://www.screentogif.com/ is what I use.

Prime, 15C CE
Find all posts by this user
02-21-2019, 09:55 AM
What's wrong with a video capture uploaded to YouTube and linked to here?
02-21-2019, 11:17 AM
Yes, youtube for everything. :-) It is not enough using youtube for audio uploading, I even saw uploaded text documents.

Sometimes less is more, and animated gif is perfectly suitable for simple task like short screen capture is.

Prime, 15C CE
02-21-2019, 11:20 AM