HP41C problem...very disconcerted
04-18-2020, 09:28 AM (This post was last modified: 04-19-2020 07:38 AM by isanchez.)
HP41C problem...very disconcerted
Hi,
I am addressing you because I am trying to repair an HP41C, the very early model, sn1943Axxxx. One of those with the metallic keyboard plate, not plastic sheet.
I have a lot of experience in repairing this model, but in this case I have to confess I am really disconcerted, this is why I am addressing you for help.

I proceed to describe how is the situation:

The calculator was in bad state, very dirty but only one important issue: the battery contacts were ruined.
I cleaned the calculator exhaustively: the internal foam of the case got degraded and it was full of dust. NO oxidation at all, all keys working fine, except the number "3"key . All keys made the typical "click", including number "3".
I replaced the battery contacts and mounted back the calculator. It worked all fine, except the "3". It cost a lot to make a good contact, so I decided to open it again, disassemble and clean the "3". TO do this I immersed the bottom first third of the keyboard in water with very soft soap for some minutes. The idea is that the water does not reach the display. The rest of the keyboard is basically mechanical and this has worked for me always,. Before this I tried with contact cleaner spray without success. After this I dried the keyboard with a hairdryer (just cool fan, no heating), when was fully dry, I assembled the calculator back and worked PERFECT: the number 3 was flawlessly and also the rest of the functions, keys, display etc.

This was yesterday.

Today I try to turn on the calculator and gets blocked, showing "*" and then "NULL", no response to on/off and also shows nonsense content (all display functions displayed, some numbers when keyed, but comes back to "*" "NULL".

I have tested/replaced the following:

-Changed/tested with at least five different battery contacts.