FRAM71B installation
|
12-17-2021, 01:52 PM
Post: #21
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
Erwin,
I have ...
In your place I would redo my first config (RAM only), claim all the 5.0x ports, free all the ports that will contains the ROM, reload the ROMS, reapply the final configuration (RAM/ROM) and see how it goes. Sylvain |
|||
12-17-2021, 02:17 PM
(This post was last modified: 12-17-2021 07:19 PM by Dave Frederickson.)
Post: #22
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-16-2021 08:08 PM)Erwin Wrote:(12-15-2021 05:12 PM)Hans Brueggemann Wrote: try again doing a POKE"2C000", config$, but make sure that config$ is exactly 32 nibbles long. Hi Erwin, In which position was the E0000 jumper when you POKE'd the config string? Can you provide a MEMBUF report? Dave Edit: Additionally, this violates the operating procedures for the ROM modules. Per the manuals, the modules should be "installed" one at a time. |
|||
12-18-2021, 10:58 AM
(This post was last modified: 12-18-2021 11:02 AM by Hans Brueggemann.)
Post: #23
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
the HP-71B declares/recognizes a freed port by the "3BDDDDDE" in that particular port's header. an attempt to claim that port back into main memory will fail if that header is not found. this can happen when F_addresses are accidentally being swapped or when jumper CN2-2 is set. to hunt down the freed port in question, a PEEK$ (Port_begin_H_adr$, 16) done on each of the RAM modules' start address should reveal the port. however, the situation is a bit tricky here, because of E4 being only 16 kB. so, this is my best guess on how the HP-71B would arrange the memory:
Code: H_0x30000: 18 |
|||
12-18-2021, 02:09 PM
(This post was last modified: 12-18-2021 02:28 PM by Dave Frederickson.)
Post: #24
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-18-2021 10:58 AM)Hans Brueggemann Wrote: the HP-71B declares/recognizes a freed port by the "3BDDDDDE" in that particular port's header. an attempt to claim that port back into main memory will fail if that header is not found. this can happen when F_addresses are accidentally being swapped or when jumper CN2-2 is set. to hunt down the freed port in question, a PEEK$ (Port_begin_H_adr$, 16) done on each of the RAM modules' start address should reveal the port. however, the situation is a bit tricky here, because of E4 being only 16 kB. so, this is my best guess on how the HP-71B would arrange the memory: Be aware, the Finance ROM contains the IRAM identifier even though it's a ROM. According to the IDS, the IRAM identifier is B3DDDDDE and a hex editor will show it with the nibbles reversed as 3BDDDDED. (Was there something wrong with DEAD BEEF or CAFE BABE?) |
|||
12-18-2021, 02:16 PM
Post: #25
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
oof, that's a typo in the manual. thanks for pointing it out!
|
|||
12-18-2021, 04:01 PM
Post: #26
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-18-2021 10:58 AM)Hans Brueggemann Wrote: the HP-71B declares/recognizes a freed port by the "3BDDDDDE" in that particular port's header. an attempt to claim that port back into main memory will fail if that header is not found.If a RAM doesn't have the correct IRAM ID, the RAM will be put back as main RAM at the next configuration (power-up or any FREE/CLAIM PORT). You can't have an IRAM with an incorrect ID. J-F |
|||
12-19-2021, 10:05 AM
Post: #27
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-18-2021 04:01 PM)J-F Garnier Wrote:(12-18-2021 10:58 AM)Hans Brueggemann Wrote: the HP-71B declares/recognizes a freed port by the "3BDDDDDE" in that particular port's header. an attempt to claim that port back into main memory will fail if that header is not found.If a RAM doesn't have the correct IRAM ID, the RAM will be put back as main RAM at the next configuration (power-up or any FREE/CLAIM PORT). You can't have an IRAM with an incorrect ID. Dear Hans, J-F and Dave, thanks for your outstanding support. The Jumper E0000 was set cause I use the Forth ROM image - so this should not be the problem. CN2-2 is not set so IRAM should be identified. After a second reset (removed batteries) and Poked 32 "0" and the string again, IRAM wasn't visible. So I tried another time to FREE the Port (5.04) for IRAM and then it established it, of course the files in there are deleted (have a backup of this). MEMBUF Code: run membuf SHOWPORT Code: showport and the IRAM was correct. But couldn't find the part before. Code: peek$("B0000",8) No idea what happened. I thought after a power off and then POKE back the configuration string the system should be in the old configuration cause the IRAM is protected. To find this out I removed the batteries again. After this procedure the CIRCUIT ROM was not visible anymore although it is still in the SHOWPORT (5.06). Code: HP71:2CDCC FTH41:1A EDT:A MATH:2B JPC:F04 HPIL:1B FIN:A But MEM is now 147819 so it seems the system recognizes the CIRCUIT ROM as ROM not IRAM-Type. No possibility to get it back. But the other IRAM is still there. Tried the same procedure as above ... but with the same result the Port 5.06 was still there but now empty (CAT). No possibility to claim and free the port again or POKE the other identifier. So things got worst. What's interesting, according to my notice The FINANCE and CIRCUIT should be of type"1" not "2". Looks like I have to make the install from scratch again. But maybe there are other ideas outside ... [/quote] |
|||
12-19-2021, 01:44 PM
Post: #28
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-19-2021 10:05 AM)Erwin Wrote: What's interesting, according to my notice The FINANCE and CIRCUIT should be of type"1" not "2".Initially the memory for the ROM's will be type 1, IRAM, so that the ROM images can be copied to the port. Then the config string should be POKE'd with the appropriate value to convert the port to ROM, type 2. |
|||
12-19-2021, 08:43 PM
Post: #29
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-19-2021 01:44 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:(12-19-2021 10:05 AM)Erwin Wrote: What's interesting, according to my notice The FINANCE and CIRCUIT should be of type"1" not "2".Initially the memory for the ROM's will be type 1, IRAM, so that the ROM images can be copied to the port. Then the config string should be POKE'd with the appropriate value to convert the port to ROM, type 2. Hi Dave, of course you are right - I changed the identifier with the poke. But with my experiments my calculator is in a stage where I can not config it anymore. I get an "ERR:" message when I want to make a new configuration. No better result with POKE 2C000 with 32 "0". I put the CN2-2 to clear all IRAM but with no better result. I think there are some wrong bits in the memory from my testing where the reset doesn't clear them. I think I need to clear the FRAM complete. There was an info about this in the forum how to do this but can't find it. best regards Erwin |
|||
12-19-2021, 08:57 PM
Post: #30
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
I believe this is what you're looking for.
https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-5044.html |
|||
01-04-2022, 01:24 PM
Post: #31
|
|||
|
|||
RE: FRAM71B installation
(12-19-2021 08:57 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote: I believe this is what you're looking for. Thanks Dave - saved me for getting boring :-) After the total reset Installation and changes to the different RAMs - "system is stable". I updated my little manual (MATHROM Garnier, and the links): Examples FRAM71B best regards and a Happy New Year to all Erwin |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)