solve() problems
06-04-2021, 07:51 PM
solve() problems
Hello, I am new to Prime, and new to this forum, so please forgive my ignorance!
I am trying to learn about equations and HP Prime's possibilities in solving equations. Now on my Home screen using solve() function does not give me any solutions, just X. For instance taking the simple example from the solve() Help:
solve(X-3=1) -> X
Same happens with all other equations.
What is going on?

I am using Textbook entry method.
Software version 2021/05/05. Hardware version D. OS V2.060.650
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2021, 06:17 AM
RE: solve() problems
You have to tell the calculator for what variable you want to solve.
So if you put in solve(x-3=1,x) you get the right answer {4}.

Best

Raimund
06-05-2021, 07:06 AM
(06-04-2021 07:51 PM)HansB Wrote:  ... Now on my Home screen using solve() function does not give me any solutions, just X. For instance taking the simple example from the solve() Help:
solve(X-3=1) -> X

Two problems here. (1) Home view is intended for floating-point number crunching, not symbolic math manipulations or exact calculations. That's what CAS view is for. (2) Notice that all the examples for solve() in the Help system use lowercase 'x', which causes a syntax error in Home view when no value has been stored in the variable 'x' yet. This serves as a reminder to you that solve() is a function that performs symbolic math manipulation, so you should only use it in CAS, where undeclared variables are treated symbolically as expected, instead of as syntax errors.

You can force Home to treat uppercase 'X' as a symbolic variable (which it isn't really) by putting your algebraic expressions in single quote marks like this:
solve( 'X^2-3=1' , 'X' )
but that's silly. Use CAS for CAS problems, and use Home for number crunching.

<0|ɸ|0>
-Joe-
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
06-05-2021, 07:19 AM