Announcing Project HAM (Historic Albillo Materials)
09-10-2021, 03:39 PM
Announcing Project HAM (Historic Albillo Materials)

Hi, all:

Some of you may have wondered why I haven't uploaded any new updates to my web site since last May, and the reason is I've been pretty busy since my 3rd computer in a row died unexpectedly, which forced me to buy a new one. This also meant being able to use again a scanner, which wasn't possible in the late laptop because of drivers incompatibility.

The matter is, now that I've regained scanning capabilities, and to commemorate the incoming 2nd Anniversary of my web site next Sept. 20, I'm scanning most of my 40-45 year-old vintage materials still surviving (regrettably, many got lost) from the time I bought my very first HP calculator (an HP-25, back in 1976 or so) when I was but a teenager with very rudimentary self-taught English and very little money, but nevertheless I boldly joined PPC (#4747). Now my purpose is to upload to my site everything I've kept stored since then, for interested people to download, read, and get an idea of that Golden Age when every calculator no matter how plain was an awesome, advanced piece of technology, let alone an RPN programmable HP calculator.

My surviving vintage materials consist of some 2,000 pages which were stored in boxes 40-45 years ago and left undisturbed since then. I've scanned most of the text pages as greyscale while the images (brochures usually) are in 24-bit color. The vast majority were scanned at 300 dpi, resulting in 2,552 x 3,508 PNG images, which have been kindly and expertly postprocessed by Eric Rechlin himself (for which I'm most indebted and thank him very much) and collected into multi-page PDF documents, which also include OCR'd text with variable quality ranging from poor to very usable (for copy/paste, etc.), and some of them additionally contain a text file with my very own Notes detailing the document's background and interesting trivia.