HHC 2021 - Lines and graphs presentation
10-15-2021, 06:42 PM
HHC 2021 - Lines and graphs presentation
This was my attempt to explain Linear Programming in its simplest form: 2 unknowns and using graphs to find a solution.

Not sure how many of us have ever used linear programming, but it often seems very complex. It ** is ** very complex for real world problems, but I like to know how it works for simple problems and then assume computers do the same thing I just did for the complicated problems.

Lines and Graphs HHC 2021 - Linear Programming

I taught this in a former life when I was a professor at a local university. Part of the management science class (queuing theory, decision theory, forecasting, simulation).

/sarcasm on -- Undergraduates always loved it. -- /sarcasm off
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2021, 12:41 AM
RE: HHC 2021 - Lines and graphs presentation
I learned this stuff in an operations research course in college, It was fun to see it again and get a refresher

Regarding why the best solution is always in a corner, one way to see this is to start by thinking of the bounds as a fencediin field. If you add the cost as a third dimension to the graph, then the cost forms a plane and it's like the fenced field is on a slope. No matter how the plane slopes, the low point is always in a corner.
10-16-2021, 12:24 PM
With one caveat - if the slope of the objective function is the same as the slope of line between two corners, then any point along the line should have the same objective function value.

Otherwise, quite correct! :-)
10-16-2021, 01:24 PM
Semi-related: Linear programming can be useful in rendering. (Skip this post if you're not interested in that.)