Python version on the HP Prime
02-13-2022, 10:12 AM
Python version on the HP Prime
Hi to all,
i am a programming novice interested in astronavigation. I want to write a sight reduction program including the calculation of the most imiportant ephemeris data for sun and the brighter stars. I found some great py code that I can use. but, alas, the code does not run on the HP Python. I managed to import it to the Prime via connectivity kit (thanks to the help I got here in the forum). Anyone familiar with the python version on the HP please help me with data on the documentation of this version. the link to the code on the sun ephemeris is: https://www.celnav.de/page3.htm, sunmoon almanac by hennig Umland.
thank you very much in advance, greetings kunze
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2022, 04:10 PM (This post was last modified: 02-13-2022 04:33 PM by Thomas_Sch.)
RE: Python version on the HP Prime
It's Micropython.
See e.g. https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-16862.html
From the build in help (start the python app, then press Help), page 2:
"HPPrime uses micropython 3.4. (You should be able to find all the documentation at https://micropython.org/). "
Micropython uses only a subset of python.

sunmoon (Sun and Moon Almanac 0.92 by H. Umland) maybe uses functions net contained in micropython, and/or you need to include other libraries.

Edit: In the full Help go to "Tree", "Search", "Python all_modules",
there all all available modules listed. (builtins, micropython, uarray, uio, ...)

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

02-13-2022, 08:57 PM
HI Thomas, thank you very much" Herzlichen Dank! lg Kuenze
02-14-2022, 07:07 PM
The prime has a few issues with the sun_moon.py code:

a. fsum and isclose do not exit in the math module.
b. exit is in the sys module

To fix this i put the following code at the top of the file:

Code:
from builtins import sum as fsum
from builtins import abs
from sys import exit

def isclose(a,b,abs_tol):