12C SDK projects
05-14-2022, 08:11 PM
12C SDK projects
Hey all, new guy here!

I was just wondering if anyone had any interesting projects with the 12C dev kit/SDK that was released several years ago?

I'm definitely not new to HP calculators, but I've not had much free time the last several years... Something I've always wanted to do is try and repurpose one of these ARM based 12Cs... so this past week I finally got around to looking at it.

I'm a firmware engineer, but I don't have a 16C (though I do have a DM16... love it). So similar functionality seemed like a great first target. I've got a project going right now that does both hex and decimal bases, along with simple integer math/bitwise operations. I figure I will just continue to add functionality as I have time. I was just wondering if anybody else had anything interesting (or tips)? I'm using IAR, but I'd really love to switch to GCC... not sure if anybody has converted the dev code that was released? Also have some issues to work through on the power management or key handler side, I have to hit a couple buttons to get the screen to turn on.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2022, 08:40 PM (This post was last modified: 05-14-2022 08:51 PM by andylithia.)
RE: 12C SDK projects
Not with the old 12C+ SDK, but I did play with the 12C+ rev2 a little bit before. I’m able to get the LCD and Keyboard working.
Checkout: https://lithcore.cn/hp12c-modding-assets/

Unfortunately, I left my dev machine at home before I come to the US. So the development is halted. The dev platform I used was simply Microchip Studio (eeeevil proprietary software)

Vintage HP handheld user
Lithcore.cn
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
05-14-2022, 10:00 PM
Appreciate the link, will check it out! I currently only have the 12c+ version, have not seen a rev2. My fall back was going to be Microchip Studio.

Thanks!
05-15-2022, 01:10 AM