Post Reply 
Brute simple speed check program
09-06-2022, 09:43 AM (This post was last modified: 09-06-2022 12:51 PM by Bill Triplett.)
Post: #1
Brute simple speed check program
At 3.2GHz the PC emulator needs one second to do 1000000 loops.
On an old Samsung Galaxy Note 4, the Android emulator is about 15 times slower than the PC version.
How do the actual physical calculators score? G1? G2?
Please try this program with a million loops, and share your test results:

Code:
// Input the number of loops.
// Output is the number of seconds.
EXPORT LOOP(N)
  BEGIN 
  LOCAL S := 0, T, K;
  T := TICKS();
  FOR K FROM 1 TO N DO 
    S := S+1;
  END;
  T := TICKS() - T;
  RETURN T/1000;
END;


Attached File(s)
.txt  LOOP.txt (Size: 326 bytes / Downloads: 13)
.hpprgm  LOOP.hpprgm (Size: 1.84 KB / Downloads: 7)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2022, 12:48 PM
Post: #2
RE: Brute simple speed check program
Quote:At 3.2GHz the PC emulator needs one second to do 1000000 loops.
On an old Samsung Galaxy Note 4, the Android emulator is about 15 times slower than the PC version.
How do the actual physical calculators score? G1? G2?

My G1 takes 54.92 sec, my G2 16.718. I think this is quite impressing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2022, 01:23 PM
Post: #3
RE: Brute simple speed check program
Rawi,

Thanks.

That means the simulator running on a Samsung Galaxy Note 4 is almost exactly equal to the G2. As a comparison, I wheeled out a TI-89 Titanium with hardware 3. A similar program incrementing a variable needed ten seconds to do 1000 loops. Ouch.

Bill
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2022, 03:07 PM
Post: #4
RE: Brute simple speed check program
There is old benchmark thread:
https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-11...04029.html

Geocaching Coords Solver, Number of triangles Puzzle, Snooker Counter
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2022, 10:43 PM
Post: #5
RE: Brute simple speed check program
(09-06-2022 01:23 PM)Bill Triplett Wrote:  As a comparison, I wheeled out a TI-89 Titanium with hardware 3. A similar program incrementing a variable needed ten seconds to do 1000 loops. Ouch.

On my HP 50g in approximate mode, 1000 loops take 2.46 seconds.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2022, 05:47 AM
Post: #6
RE: Brute simple speed check program
The HP-50g is charming because of the time it saves due to using fewer keystrokes, for most practical problem solving.

I just wish someone would create an update of the version 2.15 ROM without the IFTE bug. I keep a spare unit around running the 2.09 ROM, so IFTE works fine for me, but still...

Surely HP would not lose money, if they released the 2.15 ROM source code at this point in time. Some bright person(s) would be able to fix the bug, after some careful reading.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)