Was gifted some old HP's today... questions
11-22-2022, 12:33 AM
Was gifted some old HP's today... questions
I'm a HS math teacher in the States with an interest in old calculating devices. Most of my colleagues are too young to recognize anything older than a TI-30 or TI-83, much less a slide rule. I was puttering around with my 50g at school the other day and showed it to one older colleague - not a hardcore math/engineering guy, but I figured he might be interested nonetheless. He's like... "Yeah, I've got a box of old calculators like that a friend gave me. I'll bring those in for you." Um... sure, OK!

He shows up today with a bag full of calculators and manuals, all in near-pristine condition...

45 + Manual (no charger)
10C + User Manual
15C + User Manual + Advanced Functions Handbook
28C + User Manual + Advanced Functions Handbook + 4 books of examples
48S (dead) + 2 vol User Manual
A few random old TI's and less interesting things

So... score? I told him some of this was fairly valuable, but he was just trying to clean out his closets and keep the stuff out of landfills. The 45 is going to live in my classroom with some of my other display objects for its vintage charm. The 28C I wasn't particularly interested in myself but a quick eBay search indicated that it should be worth something with all those extra manuals included, so I gave those back and told him to eBay them. If anyone here is interested, PM me and I can put you in touch with him.