symbolic constants in CAS
12-22-2013, 04:42 AM (This post was last modified: 12-22-2013 01:28 PM by jgreenb2.)
symbolic constants in CAS
I'm a self-confessed CAS newbie -- I never used it on my 48 or 50. But now I want to explore it a bit and I'm confused.

If I want to find the Laplace transform of exp(x) I execute:

laplace(exp(x),x,t) and correctly get 1/(t-1) as a result.

Now if I want to symbolically evaluate exp(a*x) for an undetermined constant 'a' I should get 1/(t-a) as the answer. But if I use 'A' as the constant, it's evaluated and I get 1/(t-3) as the answer (assuming 3 is stored in A).

If I try using 'a' as the constant:

laplace(exp(a*x),x,t) I get an error because 'a' is undefined.

How do I enter laplace(exp(a*x),x,t) and get back 1/(t-a) ???
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2013, 04:44 AM
RE: symbolic constants in CAS
Have you tried to use this command using the CAS view? Press the [CAS] button (it's black, toward the top right of the keyboard).

Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys
12-22-2013, 01:24 PM
All the examples above were executed in CAS.
12-22-2013, 07:42 PM (This post was last modified: 12-22-2013 07:42 PM by jgreenb2.)
A few learnings but no solution. First, CAS is based is giac. This must be common knowledge but not to me! Which means, of course, that Parisse is actually Bernard Parisse -- Hello! So that explains how to find the "missing" documentation on CAS (like what are the legitimate arguments to assume(), etc.).

So I downloaded a version of XCAS and tried to see what to do. There, it works exactly as I want:

laplace(exp(a*x),x,t) returns -((1/(a-t))) with no complaints about the symbol 'a'.

That gives me hope it should be possible on the prime, but again, how???
12-22-2013, 07:52 PM