Programming error on the physical calculator only
08-31-2014, 02:38 AM
Programming error on the physical calculator only
I'm a newbie to the HP Prime (and programming itself), so I wrote a little snippet to better learn its programming language. Since I use Linux, I've installed the emulator and Connectivity Kit on a VM, and wrote the code there. The problem is my VM won't find the calculator, so I had to type it directly to my physical calculator.
But when I try to verify it, it gives me the following errors (works fine on the emulator, though):

EXPORT MOUSEDISPLAY(CSIZE)
BEGIN
LOCAL X,Y;
RECT;
REPEAT
X := MOUSE(0);
Y := MOUSE(1);
IF ((MOUSE(0) != X) OR (MOUSE(1) != Y)) THEN
RECT;
TEXTOUT_P("X: " + RIGHT(LEFT(STRING(SETBASE(X,| 3)), 4), 3) + ", Y: " + RIGHT(LEFT(STRING(SETBASE(Y, 3)), 4), 3), 110, 220, 4, #000000h);
LINE_P(X - CSIZE,| Y, X + CSIZE, Y, #FF0000h);
LINE_P(X,| Y - CSIZE, X, Y + CSIZE, #FF0000h);
END;
UNTIL GETKEY == '4';
END;

Software version: 2014 3 31 (6030) A
Emulator is 6031. I can't update because, as said before, I'm running Linux and the VM doesn't recognize my calculator.

What am I missing?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2014, 08:33 AM (This post was last modified: 08-31-2014 09:25 AM by jebem.)
RE: Programming error on the physical calculator only
Did you try to delete those 3 extra "|" symbols in the physical HP Prime editor?

I have the same software and firmware versions and it passes the validation with no errors. I have:
-started the HP Connectivity kit;
-started the HP Prime virtual calculator (Rev. 6031);
- connected the HP Prime machine (s/w 6030) into a USB port on my PC (both calculators appears in the HP Connectivity kit inventory;
-copied your posted text program into a new program named "MOUSEDISPLAY" in the HP Prime virtual calculator;
- got the same errors as you report, but after deleting the extra "|" symbols it was ok;