Too many calculators?
10-02-2023, 08:38 PM (This post was last modified: 10-02-2023 08:43 PM by Peter Klein.)
Too many calculators?
Upon hearing Mozart’s opera "The Abduction from the Seraglio," Emperor Joseph II reportedly exclaimed, "Too many notes." Mozart retorted, "Just as many as necessary, your Majesty." Sometimes that argument runs through my head when I contemplate my "stash" of HP calculators.

I’m not an engineer. I'm a music and theater major who luckily blundered into IT to make a living. I'm now retired. I'm also a ham radio operator. I am a diehard RPN fan. I started with RPN on an HP-25 in the 70s and never looked back. I acquired an 11c in the 1980s. Then c. 2000, I discovered that my employer had a spare 32s sitting around. That became my calculator of choice. A couple of colleagues who found out I liked RPN gave me their 32s calculators when they "upgraded" or retired. Nobody else wanted them(!)

And, of course, I bought a few more HPs. I concentrated on user machines that worked well but didn’t always look perfect. Part of my rationale was to have some spares, so I wouldn't be forced to use an algebraic calculator in my old age if my older HPs wore out. Part was a quest to find the unattainable perfect combination of keyboard ergonomics and display readability. And part was that I just like the darn things. So I now have nine RPN HPs, which I alternate using. That leads to a bit of keyboard confusion.