Post Reply 
ROMCOPY
01-24-2024, 03:35 PM
Post: #1
ROMCOPY
Dear all,

I downloaded the HP-82484A Curve Fitting Pac distribution file from the museum site. I was able to put the ROMCOPY to my HP71. I tried to ROMCOPY the CURVEFIT ROM71 to my HP71, using
ROMCOPY CURVEFIT:TAPE(1) TO :MAIN
That does not work and gives an HP-IL error: device not found.
Is it possible to copy it without having the hardware ROM?

Kind regards,
Henk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2024, 03:56 PM
Post: #2
RE: ROMCOPY
AFAIK, the CFIT routines are in BASIC, no need to do a ROMCOPY, just load the file.

But I have the module. 8^)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2024, 03:57 PM
Post: #3
RE: ROMCOPY
ROMCOPY works on IRAM only

so type FREE :PORT(2) to create an IRAM (if Port 2 has a memory module installed.)
And then type

ROMCOPY CURVEFIT:TAPE(1) TO :PORT(2) ...

Ralf

/41/48/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2024, 04:14 PM
Post: #4
RE: ROMCOPY
Thanks for the quick reply.
I tried to copy it to port 2 where a 4k memory module is available. I got an error: insufficient memory. I have the same memory module in port 1. Is there a workaround?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2024, 05:51 PM (This post was last modified: 01-24-2024 05:55 PM by Sylvain Cote.)
Post: #5
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-24-2024 04:14 PM)hesc Wrote:  I tried to copy it to port 2 where a 4k memory module is available. I got an error: insufficient memory. I have the same memory module in port 1. Is there a workaround?
Unfortunately not, you just need more RAM or a Flash/EPROM module with the programming hardware.
Most application ROM modules were either 16K or 32K, HHP and CMT RAM memory modules were sold in 32KB steps (32/64/96/128/160KB).
The HP-71B Compendium (Part 3 or PDF) list the available options.
There is also the HP-71B MultiMod ROM Emulator card reader module that was not available when the compendium was published.
Unfortunately the FRAM module is no longer available and the RAM modules, front-port and/or card-reader port, when available, are expensive on eBay.

Sylvain Côté
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 01:02 AM (This post was last modified: 01-25-2024 01:21 AM by Dave Frederickson.)
Post: #6
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-24-2024 04:14 PM)hesc Wrote:  Is there a workaround?

You can install the ROM image into Emu71.

Of note, "ROMCOPY is a LEX file that computes and places checksums in ROM images". The CMTTOOLS, used with the EPROM programmer, can also copy IRAM images and generate checksums (programmer not required).

Here's the ROMCOPY doc: https://drive.google.com/uc?export=downl...jZXOGgwcVk
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 07:44 AM
Post: #7
RE: ROMCOPY
I thought of it too. So, I started getting a ROM image from my HP71:
10 DIM A$[64]
20 A=HTD("0") ! start address of ROM to transfer
30 FOR I=0 TO 64*32-1 ! length of ROM (here for 64Kb)
40 A$=PEEK$(DTH$(A+I*64),64)
50 OUTPUT :1 ;A$
60 NEXT I
That worked at the HP71 side. However, the output I got at the pyilper side was quit randomly: the monitor showed activity, but the screen of the printer only sometimes gave an output. Sometimes, I got a logfile Printer1.log, but only with start and ending time. So, I am confused what is going wrong. The baudrate at pyilper was set at auto and was very high. I put it to 9600, but I got an error. I think I have to configure pyilper better, but I got stuck in it.
Is this the best way to get a ROM image?
Help is very welcome...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 10:02 AM (This post was last modified: 01-25-2024 10:03 AM by Hiwi.)
Post: #8
RE: ROMCOPY
Hi hesc,

what is your assignio configuration, display is, printer is?

With ilper and 2 images attached the HP71 sees 3 il devices. The first is the printer/display , the others are massstorage devices so assignio should be ":p1; :m1; :m2" for example.
And then display is ":p1"

What do see when typing listio? Should be in this example the 3 devices.

And sometimes a resethpil command is recommended.

Ralf

/41/48/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 10:08 AM
Post: #9
RE: ROMCOPY
For the HP71 the baudrate should be 230k, the jumper JP2 in the pil box should be set.
This requires a firmware >1.5

Ralf

/41/48/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 11:22 AM
Post: #10
RE: ROMCOPY
Thank you for your reply.

Jumper P2 is set
After setting baudrate to 230400 (exact value in pyILPER baud rate menu) I get an error from ILPER: illegal retval???
Can you give me the syntax for the assign io and list io statements? I am quite new to the HP71. I looked in the reference manual but could not find it.
Is it the best way to get a rom image?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 01:48 PM (This post was last modified: 01-25-2024 01:48 PM by Hiwi.)
Post: #11
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-25-2024 11:22 AM)hesc Wrote:  Thank you for your reply.

Jumper P2 is set
After setting baudrate to 230400 (exact value in pyILPER baud rate menu) I get an error from ILPER: illegal retval???
Can you give me the syntax for the assign io and list io statements? I am quite new to the HP71. I looked in the reference manual but could not find it.
Is it the best way to get a rom image?

What firmware (pilbox) do you have?
Syntax depends on configuration.
Try listio first, what do you see?

The best way to deal with ROMS is ROMCOPY :-)

Ralf

/41/48/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 01:51 PM
Post: #12
RE: ROMCOPY
I never had any problems with HP71B and PILBOX.
Can you try another pair of IL cables, just to be sure they are ok?
Ralf

/41/48/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2024, 03:03 PM
Post: #13
RE: ROMCOPY
Forgive me if this is all known, but I know this has helped others

71B connected via IL to the PILBOX

Launch ILPer - I choose COM3 and nothing more needed

Make sure the HP9114B and the HDRIVE1 has a file linked to LIF or DAT format (could be the ROM you want to copy - normally a LIF)

Start ILPer

Use the icon in the upper left hand corner of your dialogue box - Right click and you should see HP-IL Device info which shows address of the devices have available in your IL-Link "chain".

Mine is Printer on :1, HP9114 on :2 and HDRIVE1 on :3 - default

RESTOREIO on the 71B

and do a CAT :X on your 71B with X being the number of the one you have your ROM-Image in - it normally should show the ROM as a CURVEFIT ROM and the ROMCOPY as LEX - the one you know about. It also shows the size of the ROM image - in this case 32K - no way around the 32K in this approach! You must have a FREE'd 32k IRAM available to move it to the 71B or it wont work.

Getting 32K is obviously easier on a virtual 71B "EMU71" (and a lot cheaper)

Hope this helps


(01-25-2024 11:22 AM)hesc Wrote:  Thank you for your reply.

Jumper P2 is set
After setting baudrate to 230400 (exact value in pyILPER baud rate menu) I get an error from ILPER: illegal retval???
Can you give me the syntax for the assign io and list io statements? I am quite new to the HP71. I looked in the reference manual but could not find it.
Is it the best way to get a rom image?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 03:04 PM
Post: #14
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-25-2024 07:44 AM)hesc Wrote:  I thought of it too. So, I started getting a ROM image from my HP71:
10 DIM A$[64]
20 A=HTD("0") ! start address of ROM to transfer
30 FOR I=0 TO 64*32-1 ! length of ROM (here for 64Kb)
40 A$=PEEK$(DTH$(A+I*64),64)
50 OUTPUT :1 ;A$
60 NEXT I

Is this the best way to get a ROM image?
Help is very welcome...

The above code is one way to dump the System ROM. For IRAM's you will need to change the start address and the length.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 03:36 PM (This post was last modified: 01-26-2024 06:20 PM by Dave Frederickson.)
Post: #15
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-25-2024 10:08 AM)Hiwi Wrote:  For the HP71 the baudrate should be 230k, the jumper JP2 in the pil box should be set.
This requires a firmware >1.5

Ralf

Lets get some stuff straight.

PILBOX version 1.0 with firmware v1.5 can run up to 115k.
PILBOX version 2.0 with firmware v2.1 can run up to 230k.

All this ASSIGNIO/LISTIO stuff is not required. The dump routine uses device Addresses, not Assign Codes.

EDIT:
There is currently on eBay, a RARE 64k RAM module at a reasonable price.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/176196850754

This can provide two 32k ports for installing ROM images.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 07:53 PM
Post: #16
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-26-2024 03:36 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  There is currently on eBay, a RARE 64k RAM module at a reasonable price.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/176196850754
Unfortunately it is a USA only auction.

Sylvain Côté
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 08:33 PM
Post: #17
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-26-2024 07:53 PM)Sylvain Cote Wrote:  
(01-26-2024 03:36 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  There is currently on eBay, a RARE 64k RAM module at a reasonable price.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/176196850754
Unfortunately it is a USA only auction.

You know the seller, Sylvain. He'll probably make an exception in your case.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 09:12 PM
Post: #18
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-26-2024 08:33 PM)Dave Frederickson Wrote:  
(01-26-2024 07:53 PM)Sylvain Cote Wrote:  Unfortunately it is a USA only auction.
You know the seller, Sylvain. He'll probably make an exception in your case.
You are right, I just put the comment because I assumed that your suggestion was for hesc who is from The Netherlands.

Sylvain Côté
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 10:22 PM
Post: #19
RE: ROMCOPY
Dear all,

Thank you for all the suggestions. I think the price may be reasonable, but a bit too high for me.
In the meantime I have EMU71 up and running, thanks to the many help of all of you. Thanks for that.
I succeeded to get the curve fit running and now I try to make a connection between my physical HP41 and virtual HP71, making use of a pil-box and HP-82490A_HP-41-TRANSLATOR_ROM and HP-82490A_HP-41-TRANSLATOR_HRD. I uploaded these roms in port 2 and 3 and TRANS41 etc work.
Question is now how to connect my HP41 using pyILPER to the virtual HP71 using EMU71.
As many of you might recognise, it is the puzzle that makes this kind of work so nice.
Help is welcomed again!

Kind regards,
Henk Schellen
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2024, 10:50 PM
Post: #20
RE: ROMCOPY
(01-26-2024 10:22 PM)hesc Wrote:  Question is now how to connect my HP41 using pyILPER to the virtual HP71 using EMU71.
As many of you might recognise, it is the puzzle that makes this kind of work so nice.

So as not to deprive you of all the fun, I'll give you a clue. You must set CONTROL OFF on the 71 as there can only be one controller on the loop and the controller on the 41 can't be disabled.

(01-26-2024 09:12 PM)Sylvain Cote Wrote:  You are right, I just put the comment because I assumed that your suggestion was for hesc who is from The Netherlands.

Sorry, that slipped by me. I must be getting old.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)