Repairing HP mini data cassette
03-07-2024, 06:55 PM
Repairing HP mini data cassette
Dear all,

I am trying to revitalise my HP collection. I have a 82161A digital data cassette drive with only 1 working data cassette, 1 badly repaired non functioning data cassette and 2 new unpacked data cassettes. The tape connections in the new data cassettes are also broken (I assume the adhesive tape is released) and I will try to repair those. I looked at a Youtube repairing video where one opened an audio cassette case with a sharp Stanley knive.
Does one of you have some experience with opening these small cassettes without breaking them?
I have some experience with splicing audio tapes, so I think I might be able to repair it with a 1/8 inch splicing block and subsequent adhesive tape.
Thanks on forehand for your advice.

Kind regards,
Henk Schellen
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2024, 01:21 PM
RE: Repairing HP mini data cassette
Yes, these mini-cassette tapes cases can be pretty easily opened w/o damage, and then reassembled w/o needing glue, etc.

A common problem with these tapes is the small felt pad that sites behind the tape in the center of the tape head opening has come loose from the small metal spring, and therefore does not maintain pressure on the head, so the tape cannot be read. It is fairly easy to simply replace the old pad with a new one made from felt. There is a detailed procedure described in a posting here, search for tape repair.

--Bob Prosperi
03-08-2024, 06:58 PM
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your reply. I searched for tape repair, but did not get a result. Do you have a link?

Best regards,
Henk
03-08-2024, 08:05 PM
We went over this in 2017.
https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-75...l#pid66213

Here's Tony Duell's tape repair guide.
https://www.hpmuseum.org/guest/duell/rep82176.pdf

Dave
03-08-2024, 08:10 PM
Thank you, Dave
Kind regards,
Henk
03-13-2024, 07:04 PM
Dear all,