Apply Elementwise on Matrix
06-07-2024, 08:25 PM
Apply Elementwise on Matrix
Hi Everybody,

before I ask my silly question: a short introduction to myself since this is my first post in this forum. I'm a theoretical physicist by profession and do calculations on compute clusters in my job where fortran, c++ and octave are my workhorses. I'm new to HP Calculators and now a proud owner of an HP Prime G2. My other (old friends) calculators are a TI NSpire and a TI-84.

Now comes the silly question: is there a shortcut to apply a function elementwise on a matrix/vector? Imagine you have a 10D real vector in M1 and want the vector of sines of each entry.

MAKEMAT(SIN(M1(J)),10) //ugly thing solves my problem

What is the shortest form to obtain "SIN(M1)".

Best wishes,
David
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-08-2024, 05:27 AM (This post was last modified: 06-08-2024 07:23 AM by komame.)
RE: Apply Elementwise on Matrix
(06-07-2024 08:25 PM)NumericDavid Wrote:  What is the shortest form to obtain "SIN(M1)".

Hi David,

there are several ways to do this. The question is whether it needs to be a vector or if it can be a list? Lists by default work the way you want and can also be one-dimensional or multi-dimensional.
So, using a list you can execute: SIN(L1) or directly SIN({1,2,3}) and you will get the result in the form of a list.