Advice to buy an HP
04-15-2015, 09:25 PM (This post was last modified: 04-15-2015 09:27 PM by Cancuino.)
Advice to buy an HP
Hi all,

I'm new at this forum and want to ask you all for advice. I'm an engineer and own a HP48G+ since 1997, to me it's a great calculator and I use to program it from time to time. I find it sort of slow nowadays that I'm used to use mobile phones and this kind of things, so I'm thinking about buying a new calculator. I don't need it as much as I did with my old HP but I like calculators a lot.

So, here is my question, is a really good idea to buy a new one?, will I notice a big improvement in speed and programming?.

I use to buy the latest thing but I've read not very good things about the prime and I'm thinking on the 50g instead.

I'm looking forward to your comments.

Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-15-2015, 10:23 PM
RE: Advice to buy an HP
Cancuino;
Since you are well versed in the 48G+ you would be very happy with the 50g. However; since you say you no longer need all they have to offer; you could try the 34s or the 31s. These are repurposed hp30b or 20b units that you can do yourself or buy from Eric Rechlin's site, hpcalc.org. There is a lot of info on both versions here. They are both fast and shirtpocket sized, with the programmable 34 having "everything but the kitchen sink" and the 31 being the lean mean machine. Both are the products of several members' knowledge and hard work. Both are what HP should be marketing.
04-15-2015, 10:36 PM
Thank you Den. I didn't know those models, I'll take a look at the manuals. Can I program with them the same way I did with my 48?, are they much faster than the 48?.

I use to write programs about structures and want to make sure I can do the same with this calculator, that small screen has really surprised me.

Thank you.
04-15-2015, 10:37 PM
You could consider going the emulator way first.
Since you are familiar with smartphones, you can