Formatting output (Terminal)
04-30-2015, 03:56 AM
Formatting output (Terminal)
Hello!

I'm new to the Prime and to this Forum.
Sorry, if this question has already been answered but I did search the www and this place and could't find something.

I want to format the output of a program with escape sequences.

Example:
PRINT("some text:\t"+var1+"\t"+var2);
Assumed "\t" would be "tab".

I tried the example in the manual with "\n" for a new line but in terminal view it prints literally.
I enter backslash via the Chars-menu (Latin 5c 92) and put the sequence inside a string. Am I doing something wrong or are escape sequences not supported?
(Software version 2013 8 13 (5106))

Michael
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-30-2015, 05:46 AM
RE: Formatting output (Terminal)
Hello Michael,

I've tried to use CHAR instead of "\t", but it seems, that escape sequences are not supported yet.
Code:
EXPORT testtab()
BEGIN
 local var1:="test tab";
 local var2:=5;
 local tab:=char(9);
 PRINT("some text:"+tab+var1+tab+var2);
END;

Maybe HP could add this to the wish list. @Tim ?

The software in your prime is very old, you should do an update.
The actual software version is 2014 12 3 (6975).

Thomas
04-30-2015, 04:09 PM
Hello Thomas,

thanks for your input.

(04-30-2015 05:46 AM)Thomas_Sch Wrote:  The software in your prime is very old, you should do an update.
The actual software version is 2014 12 3 (6975).

I know, but I have the "problem" to own an OS X-machine without bootcamp or parallels or any Windows on it. Furthermore my computer only has USB 3.0. So I guess updating with my equipment will not work. I managed to install the CK on my workstation at work (thanks to the IT), but without admin-powers the kit can not access the www.

Michael
04-30-2015, 04:45 PM
(04-30-2015 04:09 PM)Michael K-K Wrote:  I managed to install the CK on my workstation at work (thanks to the IT), but without admin-powers the kit can not access the www.

Michael