Compresibility factor, residual entropy and residual enthalpy calculator.
01-03-2019, 11:32 AM (This post was last modified: 01-04-2019 07:17 AM by DevilGladiator.)
Compresibility factor, residual entropy and residual enthalpy calculator.
Hi, I'm an aeronautical engeering student in spain. Today I would like to share with you the program that I've just created, it's a compresibility factor, residual entropy and residual enthalpy calculator using the Leee Kesler method.

How it works:
I'm tired of looking for the values of the compresibility factor and residual entropy/enthalpy in tables/charts. For this reason I copied the data from the tables of my textbook using an OCR scanner into the HP Prime and made a little program that interpolates the values if they fall between two data points. By the way the tables that I've copied are shared among many books like Advanced Thermodynamics For Engineers McGraw-Hill and are extracted from this paper: http://dns2.asia.edu.tw/~ysho/YSHO-Engli...%20510.pdf.

The calculation of the compresibility factor is done as follows:
Z = Z0 + w*Z1
(H*-H)/(R*Tc) = H0 + w*H1
(S*-S)/(R) = S0 + w*S1
Where Z0, Z1, S0, S1, H0 and H1 are looked in the table and w, the accentric factor, is provided by the user.

Usage:
The program comes with three four functions, all of them have the same inputs
Inputs:
-Pr: Reducced pressure of the gas (P/Pr):
-Tr: Reducced temperature of the gas (T/Tr):
-w: Accentric factor of the gas
  • STATE_DATA(): Outputs the value of Z, (H*-H)/(R*Tc), (S*-S)/(R)
  • FACTOR_Z(Pr,Tr,w): Outputs the value of Z
  • DESV_H(Pr,Tr,w): Outputs the value of (H*-H)/(R*Tc)
  • DESV_S(Pr,Tr,w): Outputs the value of (S*-S)/R

NOTES: