C compiler
09-15-2015, 11:45 AM
RE: C compiler
precisely! If I were a student, I'd probably want a TI....but I'm an engineer.....I want functionality, not exam mode. However, as I've repeated over and over again, if they were to provide it, they could prevent people from writing over any undesired areas using the MMU. They could not change that from their C code either if set up properly. Shoot, this is how Linux works...you have supervisor and user mode. If in user mode, you cannot change certain aspects of the system...only a superuser can (root).....and if you don't have that capability, you just cannot, even from a program.....so exam mode isn't an issue ONLY IF THEY SET IT UP THAT WAY. If we hack a way in, then there will be no protection. Why not embrace it and control it?

Oh well, I'm sure I'm talking to the wind anyways.

I think the solution is through an external connection....doing the intense computation on an external processor....maybe use the GPU in an X1 tegra board or something....have 300 GFlop.

Now there is an idea....a calculator with a built-in supercomputer.....building a calculator out of the X1 tegra processor (from NVIDIA). Has 2GHz quad arm core with 300GFlop GPU...that'd be a cool pocket calculator... :-)

OK, I'll get off my soapbox now :-)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-15-2015, 01:36 PM
(09-15-2015 06:50 AM)xset Wrote:  
(09-12-2015 07:19 PM)Tim Wessman Wrote:  PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM ANYTHING THAT MESSES WITH THE EXAM MODE

HP did not make adequate 50g replacement. As for me I don't care about exams. I need modern programmable device. NSpire at least has Ndless (though against TI will), but u can easily reset it rebooting device. And no global disaster happened with TI and their exam mode !