How to plot a summation?
09-25-2015, 12:46 PM
How to plot a summation?
Hi everyone! I'm trying to plot a summation on my HP Prime, but I can't do it. Even something as simple as Σ(N,N,0,X) produces no output (it should produce the summation of 0 to X). How should it be done? Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2015, 05:25 PM
RE: How to plot a summation?
That's because the sum function is a cas function and plotting is an operation using home. One way to do it is to make a cas function like:

#cas
sumcas(x):=
BEGIN
return sum(n,n,0,x);
END;
#end

That should work in home and cas; then plot F1(X):=sumcas(X).

-road
09-25-2015, 07:14 PM
Sorry, I'm really new to HP Prime (and graphic calculators in general). How do I make a CAS function like you said? I have tried creating a program like this:

EXPORT sumplot(X)
BEGIN
return CAS.sum(N,N,0,X);
END;

When running it directly, it works fine, however when I try plotting it the calculator crashes and reboots. What I'm I doing wrong?
09-25-2015, 07:29 PM
Change your program to this:

EXPORT sumplot(X)
BEGIN
return CAS.sum("N","N",0,X);
END;

and I believe it should work.

-road
09-25-2015, 07:48 PM
No, didn't fix it. I tried modifying the code a bit, as to make it return the summation only when X>0 and X<10. Now it doesn't crash, but in the interval from 0 to 10, nothing is plotted, like the program didn't return anything. Here is the code:

EXPORT sumplot(X)
BEGIN
IF X < 1 THEN
return 0;
END;
IF X > 10 THEN
return 0;
END;
return CAS.sum("N","N",0,X);
END;

Maybe CAS is returning something the plotting does not understand?
09-25-2015, 09:25 PM (This post was last modified: 09-25-2015 09:26 PM by Tim Wessman.)
(09-25-2015 12:46 PM)RodrigoPontes Wrote:  Hi everyone! I'm trying to plot a summation on my HP Prime, but I can't do it. Even something as simple as Σ(N,N,0,X) produces no output (it should produce the summation of 0 to X). How should it be done? Thanks!