Help me choose next calculator
02-02-2016, 02:13 PM
Help me choose next calculator
My beloved HP 48GX died. I'm thinking of either an e-bay direct replacement of my 48GX, a new 50G or a new Prime. Please help me decide. Here is what is and is not important to me:

Features I want, in order of importance:
*RPN is a must
*Easy unit conversion, which is available on my 48GX, is very important to me.
*It would be nice to have something that handles fractions such as a construction calculator would. My 48GX does not do this but it would sure be nice to have. Maybe the prime will have an app avilable for that.
*Time Value of Money calculations

Features that I don't care about
*symbolic input or solving symbolically
*Graphing
*That it's allowed for testing

I am an engineer, not a student. I am not likely to ever be a power programmer of the new calculator, just simple function definition is probably all I'll ever do.

Thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-02-2016, 02:35 PM
RE: Help me choose next calculator
IIRC, the 48 does do fractions very nicely. 50G is a 48 plus CAS, so would be virtually no learning curve and a nice upgrade. Prime is a different animal and not really RPN centric, though it is RPN capable. You should try a Prime app or emulator and decide for yourself.

Here's how to work with fractions on the 50G. Should apply to the 48 as well:

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/publi...-c01943918
02-02-2016, 02:52 PM
What are the symptoms of your broken HP-48GX?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
02-02-2016, 03:37 PM
Quote:Posted by Steve Simpkin - Today 09:52 AM

Will not power on even with new batteries. I've had this calculator for about 15-years so I can't complain about it's reliability.

Quote:Posted by Dave - Today 09:35 AM
Here's how to work with fractions on the 50G.