Calcs with Probability Distributions
04-19-2016, 03:51 PM
Calcs with Probability Distributions
Hi everybody,

I'm a statistics professor, and I've long been annoyed that non-graphing scientific calculators don't have probability distribution functions. More college students take statistics than other college-level math courses, and scientific calculators have had trig functions since the 70s (absolutely useless for most students), but still no probability distributions.

Exceptions: The TI36X Pro has cumulative normal/inverse normal functions. The HP 10BII+ has cumulative and inverse normal and t-distributions. Pretty cool, but its a business calculator.

Is there any other scientific (non-graphing) calculator that does cumulative/inverse normal, t, chi-square, and F distributions????

Thanks in advance,
Scott Guth
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2016, 04:08 PM
RE: Calcs with Probability Distributions
The WP-34s has all those and much more.
04-19-2016, 04:28 PM (This post was last modified: 04-19-2016 04:29 PM by sguth.)
Sorry, I should have mentioned that I'm looking for something that I can recommend to students.

The Wp34s is not an option for that reason.

Scott
04-19-2016, 05:34 PM
(04-19-2016 03:51 PM)sguth Wrote:  ...The HP 10BII+ has cumulative and inverse normal and t-distributions. Pretty cool, but its a business calculator.

Is there any other scientific (non-graphing) calculator that does cumulative/inverse normal, t, chi-square, and F distributions????

Why is the 10BII+ a bad choice for Statistics students? Are they (in your school) by definition not business majors? FYI - the 10BII+ also includes many scientific functions, trig, hyperbolics, etc. Though it is Algebraic...