saving a graph on the hp prime
12-23-2016, 11:23 PM
saving a graph on the hp prime
I plotted a graph in the geometry app and I wish to save it to use at a later time. If I take a screen shot and save it to my Mac, I don't know if or how to bring it back to the calculator. Is the HP Prime capable of saving my work? Tech support has no idea how to do this. In fact they said I was the first to ask this question. I am new to HP Prime and would be shocked if my work will be lost. Thanks to anyone who can help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2016, 11:55 PM
RE: saving a graph on the hp prime
If all you need is to save it for later:

To save and restore a graphic screen within the HP Prime filesystem you can use the AFiles command.

An example of this is included in the SCR_GET and SCR_PUT procedures in my Accesibility: Fingerspelling demo program in the HP Prime library.

How you get that file to/from a Mac filesystem I don't know.

If you want to look at it on the Mac without using HP Prime emulator:
I believe you can also load/save as a jpeg/png but cannot confirm since I use Android and its not yet available on that.

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
12-24-2016, 02:30 AM (This post was last modified: 12-24-2016 02:36 AM by Han.)
You can use AFiles("name"):=<object>

There are several graphics buffers, and G0 is the "current screen" buffer. So as an example:

AFiles("currentscreen.png"):=G0;

This will save the current screen into a file named currentscreen.png. This file can be found using the connectivity kit within whatever app was current when executing the command above. (For example, if you were in the Function app, then look within the Function app folder in the connectivity kit.) The file will be stored within the "Files" subfolder. Simply double click it (in the conn. kit) to open and view the image.