Recursive programs in XCAS.
|
02-12-2017, 12:22 AM
(This post was last modified: 02-12-2017 12:24 AM by John P.)
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
Recursive programs in XCAS.
Hello,
Can I write recursive programs in XCAS? I know that I can do recursive programs in HP PRIME, but I am trying to write some in XCAS and they do not work. Thank you, John P |
|||
02-12-2017, 01:41 AM
(This post was last modified: 02-12-2017 01:43 AM by Han.)
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
Can you provide a bit more information on what you have tried? Perhaps a snippet of code might provide a better idea of what you are trying to achieve. Or even a better description of what you wan to do beyond a generic description of "recursive program."
Fibonnaci example Code:
In general, any CAS code on the HP Prime should port as easily as copy/paste -- WITH EXCEPTIONS FOR A FEW COMMANDS (e.g. idenmat() on xcas is identity() ) Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
02-12-2017, 02:08 AM
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
(02-12-2017 01:41 AM)Han Wrote: Can you provide a bit more information on what you have tried? Perhaps a snippet of code might provide a better idea of what you are trying to achieve. Or even a better description of what you wan to do beyond a generic description of "recursive program." Actually, I am trying to port the program, that you provided some time ago for HP Prime, to the PocketCAS on my iPhone 6+. On the HP Prime it works great, but on the iPhone 6+ I can't get it to work. Below I paste your original prgm. for the computation of the set of combinations from the set (list). EXPORT COMBOSET(s,n) BEGIN local l:={}; local sl:={}; local tl:={}; local i,j; local m:=size(s); case if n==m then l:={s}; end; if n==1 then l:=makelist({s(X)},X,1,m); end; if n>m then l:={}; end; for i from 2 to m-n+2 do sl:=sub(s,i,m); tl:=COMBOSET(sl,n-1); for j from 1 to size(tl) do tl(j):=concat({s(i-1)},tl(j)); end; l:=concat(l,tl); end; end; return(l); END; |
|||
02-12-2017, 02:32 AM
(This post was last modified: 02-12-2017 02:33 AM by John P.)
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
(02-12-2017 01:41 AM)Han Wrote: Can you provide a bit more information on what you have tried? Perhaps a snippet of code might provide a better idea of what you are trying to achieve. Or even a better description of what you wan to do beyond a generic description of "recursive program." Yes, the example of fibon() you provided works on my iPhone 6+ so, recursive programs are possible in PocketCAS. I must be making some mistake(s) in porting the program. Thank you very much. John P |
|||
02-12-2017, 02:52 AM
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
First, please understand that non-CAS programs do not behave the same way as CAS programs. The combo set program is a non-CAS program. So commands like makelist() are actually two different commands:
In "Home" programs (i.e. non-CAS programs), upper/lower case does not matter. So makelist() is actually parsed as MAKELIST(), which is a different command from the CAS makelist(). In CAS programs, upper/lower case DOES matter. The CAS version of makelist() is: makelist( cas-function, var, start, end ) where cas-function is an actual function. For example, when you define a function f(x):=x^2 in the CAS view, you are actually creating the variable f whose content is the CAS-object (x)->x^2. The point here is that f(x):=x^2 is the same as f:=(x)->x^2. So it is this type of function (the right hand side being an example) that is the first argument in makelist(). In your case, makelist( (X)->s[X], X, 1, m ) is what you would want. Notice the s[X] as opposed to s(X) -- this is to remove any ambiguity in the CAS side whether s is a function vs. an indexed object (i.e. list). Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
02-12-2017, 04:06 AM
(This post was last modified: 02-12-2017 04:07 AM by Han.)
Post: #6
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
Just for fun, create the program below. Then in the CAS view, type:
purge(x); f:=x^2-3*x+4; CRPN(f); Recursive Program Example: Code: #pragma mode( separator(.,;) integer(h32) ) Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
03-01-2017, 04:46 AM
(This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 05:28 AM by Han.)
Post: #7
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
Here's a CAS version that works on the Prime. Notice the upper-case MAKELIST command (which is different from the lower-case makelist command). MAKELIST is a non-CAS command. This was a quick conversion from non-CAS to CAS (which does not support CASE as far as I can tell; it does have CASES, though, which seems to be the same as piecewise). You can make the code much cleaner using several return() calls.
PHP Code: #cas Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
03-01-2017, 04:49 AM
(This post was last modified: 03-01-2017 05:12 AM by Han.)
Post: #8
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Recursive programs in XCAS.
Slightly more readable version.
EDIT: Also removed MAKELIST() call since PocketCAS probably does not have that version of the command. PHP Code: #cas Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)