Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
|
04-03-2017, 02:44 PM
(This post was last modified: 12-04-2017 08:11 AM by StephenG1CMZ.)
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
When I first got my HP Prime, I implemented the Savage benchmark and then unsuccessfully tried to implement it in CAS, but never got to see the perfect 2500 result...
I was busy learning about my new Prime rather than the CAS, and somewhat put off further experimentation by the corruption referred to in this old thread - I didn't want to risk my new toy : (the corruption referred to is long gone). http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-195...ght=savage I've just tried again and now see the perfect 2500 result, but wonder if the time can be improved. Corrected code: (updated. To fix bad syntax) Code:
My working code (CAS2) runs a FOR loop repeatedly calling CAS and I thought that taking the CAS out of the FOR loop ought to speed things up. But my #CAS (CAS1) version is consistently slower. I haven't used #CAS much yet, so I'm probably not doing it right. Can #CAS1 be made faster than CAS2? Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ) https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz |
|||
04-04-2017, 04:00 AM
(This post was last modified: 04-04-2017 04:01 AM by Han.)
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
MAKELIST is faster than FOR loops.
Why the call to exact()? Your CAS1 (and CAS2) function appears to use the global variable A, but is doing exact calculations. I wonder if there is overhead from converting between CAS objects (the expression in your calculation) and non-CAS objects (the global variable A, which is a likely a "Home" object and encoded in BCD). Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
04-04-2017, 08:22 PM
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
The call to exact was just something I tried to see if it affected timings.
Changing from PPL A to CAS a improved the timings, and changing from Global variables to local improved timings further. I tried using a MAKELIST, but although it was quicker my implementation didn't give the correct answer. Unfortunately, my Android App has just lost all its programs, so I've got some re-typing to do. Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ) https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz |
|||
04-05-2017, 09:51 AM
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
Here's my latest code, using local variables and L1...
My attempt at using MAKELIST doesn't give the desired result, but the other versions are fine. Code:
Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ) https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz |
|||
12-04-2017, 07:08 AM
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
I have now placed this code into the software library for ease of reference.
http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-962...ght=savage Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ) https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz |
|||
12-04-2017, 08:21 AM
Post: #6
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie | |||
12-04-2017, 08:38 AM
Post: #7
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
(04-05-2017 09:51 AM)StephenG1CMZ Wrote: Here's my latest code, using local variables and L1... If you used AA as a variable because you didn't know it, you can still use A as a local variable. LOCAL A; Tom L Cui bono? |
|||
12-04-2017, 09:32 AM
Post: #8
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
Tom,
I am in the habit of using two-letter names when I use PPL. " LOCAL A;" would obscure access to global A (or worse, risk the code accessing global A, if in one Procedure you forgot to include the "Local"). There can also be confusion with some single-letter names, such as M, which is a matrix not a real. Although not required, I find it much easier to make my own variable. When benchmarking, it is possible that accessing " global A " might be quicker than "LOCAL AA"... But then running the benchmark might change a value that other programs are depending on, and would need wrapping up inside a save/restore. Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ) https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz |
|||
12-05-2017, 06:17 AM
Post: #9
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
Hello,
'A' or 'AA' should make absolutely no noticeable difference. Cyrille Although I work for the HP calculator group, the views and opinions I post here are my own. I do not speak for HP. |
|||
12-05-2017, 06:54 PM
(This post was last modified: 12-05-2017 07:14 PM by Han.)
Post: #10
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
Here's my own opinion about optimizing benchmark programs: don't do it (except...)
This would give you a true benchmark of one firmware vs the next -- because the benchmark is literally unchanged. Any performance differences can therefore be completely attributed to firmware changes. If you are constantly optimizing your benchmark, then one set of tests will no longer be comparable to another set of tests -- especially across different firmwares (which is what you would want if you are trying to benchmark firmwares). Instead, if you can do any optimization, simply create a new function with a similar name so that you still have the old function to cross reference against older firmware. For example, if BENCH1 is a program that can then be optimized, keep BENCH1 exactly as is and make a copy to BENCH2, and add the optimizations to BENCH2. Then your benchmark suite will not only enable you to see performance differences between different techniques, but it will also enable you to consistently compare firmware differences as well. EDIT: Also, to use MAKELIST for a for loop: Code:
Can be converted to: Code:
Graph 3D | QPI | SolveSys |
|||
12-05-2017, 11:05 PM
Post: #11
|
|||
|
|||
RE: Can my CAS Savage benchmark be improved? CAS newbie
Han, thank you for your comments and tips on how to use MAKELIST for a FOR.
I have tried it, but for the Savage benchmark I find the timing is not consistently better - on Android, sometimes FOR is faster and sometimes MAKELIST. http://www.hpmuseum.org/forum/thread-962...l#pid85168 I agree that optimising benchmarks can be a bad idea - but I cheat a little by starting my version numbers at 0.1, and until it reaches version 1 I think some changes can be expected. By then, I might have discovered a clear winner in terms of speed and accuracy. Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ) https://my.numworks.com/python/steveg1cmz |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)