HP Forums
Program using directly the stack - Printable Version

+- HP Forums (https://www.hpmuseum.org/forum)
+-- Forum: HP Calculators (and very old HP Computers) (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: HP Prime (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Program using directly the stack (/thread-14917.html)



Program using directly the stack - SimonP - 05-02-2020 07:22 AM

I just received my HP Prime and I try to do a very simple program using the result of a calculation, displayed on the first line of the stack.
How to do it?
My Example:
After a few manipulations, I have the result 125.
I would like to apply the command "R->B" to easily convert and display this value in hexadecimal.
This to avoid to tip: ALPHA R SHIFT 9 -> ALPHA B ENTER

Thanks to help me.


RE: Program using directly the stack - Joe Horn - 05-02-2020 11:21 PM

(05-02-2020 07:22 AM)SimonP Wrote:  I would like to apply the command "R->B" to easily convert and display this value in hexadecimal.
This to avoid to tip: ALPHA R SHIFT 9 -> ALPHA B ENTER

First time only: [Toolbox] (Catalog) [9] [up-cursor] [Enter]
Afterwards: [Toolbox] [Enter]

Alternative: Assign R→B to a USER mode key.


RE: Program using directly the stack - pinkman - 05-03-2020 03:30 PM

Another alternative :

Put this in a program:

Code:

KEY K_Log() // or any key you don’t often use
BEGIN
 RETURN STRING(R→B(Ans));
END;

Then, turning user mode always on (Shift-Help-Shift-Help) will let you convert the Ans value at any time.

Notice that your question is a bit RPL-oriented. We’re all here fans of RPL, but using the Prime will force you to change of paradigm.