Post Reply 
CASIO Graph 90+E
09-07-2018, 04:38 AM
Post: #61
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(09-06-2018 11:53 AM)xerxes Wrote:  Thanks for testing the FX-9750GII-2 (SH4a).

Glad to contribute. I thought there was something strange about a 2007 post being remarkably up to date.

I'll post what I got of the code for the G+, and the issues I found (so far) in it. Lbl lines need to be on their own line, or the G+ freaks out with Arg Error, i.e.

Code:
'Errors out with Arg Error with the cursor pointing to X
Lbl 0 X=R=>Goto 4

'No Error
Lbl 0
X=R=>Goto 4

The same can be said where Isz/Dsz lines get combined with their next lines, except this time it's a Syn Error
Code:
Lbl 1 Isz S
Lbl 2 Dsz Y Deg
...
' should read
Lbl 1
  Isz S
...
Lbl 2
  Dsz Y
  Deg
...

Once I cured these small errors, I was able to get the program to complete, with a time not much different from the other 9750G+ result (1m47.6s). I was really puzzled about the apparent addition of a do-nothing command Deg to the Dsz Z, but without it, the program doesn't work, because the statement Y=0=>Goto 0 is being treated as the "Z<>0" portion of the Dsz command instead of the "Z=0" and the Y=0 never gets evaluated. Things unwind when the List 1[X] - List 1[Y] happens, and you can't have List 1[0] on the G+. That caused me to hunt around for a good while trying to find the bug when I'd simply removed the Deg (as it looks like a typo).

(Post 276)

Regards, BrickViking
HP-50g |Casio fx-9750G+ |Casio fx-9750GII (SH4a)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2018, 10:22 AM
Post: #62
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
At that time, I took it as obvious, that the format of many test codes is not exactly what we see in the editor of the calculator.
I tried to make the test codes more readable, but maybe it was a little too much of the good. Sorry for the complications.

"Dsz Y Deg" is a litte bit faster than "Y-1->Y". Deg is used as NOP and is necessary in the case of Y=0 to suppress the skip.

Calculator Benchmark
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2018, 03:46 PM
Post: #63
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
is the 90+E practically a cg50 with micropython ?

Wikis are great, Contribute :)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2018, 04:00 PM
Post: #64
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(09-07-2018 03:46 PM)pier4r Wrote:  is the 90+E practically a cg50 with micropython ?

Hi pier4r,
With the new software update 3.20, the CG50 also has the Python menu (MicroPython version 1.9.4, I think)
Cheers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2018, 04:58 PM
Post: #65
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(09-07-2018 03:46 PM)pier4r Wrote:  is the 90+E practically a cg50 with micropython ?

It's practically a CG50 with an LED for exam mode.

— Ian Abbott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2020, 02:29 PM (This post was last modified: 07-14-2020 02:34 PM by StephenG1CMZ.)
Post: #66
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(05-08-2018 02:45 PM)toml_12953 Wrote:  
(05-08-2018 01:48 PM)Gerald H Wrote:  Programming language is Python:

http://www.casio-education.fr/products/graph-90-e

I wonder if the fx-CG50 can do Python as well since the 90+E is supposed to be the French version.

The version of the Cg50 being sold in WH Smith (a UK high St retailer) prior to lockdown mentioned Python, though it didn't specify which version (and never had any in stock).

Now that lockdown is easing, the version now being sold in WH Smith doesn't mention Python.

That could mean that they are selling older stock... Or just that the marketing guys don't want to sell the Cg50.

It's also conceivable that Python had to be withdrawn due to some vulnerability or exam restriction.

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2020, 04:08 PM
Post: #67
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(07-14-2020 02:29 PM)StephenG1CMZ Wrote:  That could mean that they are selling older stock... Or just that the marketing guys don't want to sell the Cg50.

It's also conceivable that Python had to be withdrawn due to some vulnerability or exam restriction.

It's no big deal since OS 3.40 (available on Casio's website) includes Python.

Tom L
...other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, what did you think of the play?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2020, 09:09 PM
Post: #68
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(07-14-2020 02:29 PM)StephenG1CMZ Wrote:  Now that lockdown is easing, the version now being sold in WH Smith doesn't mention Python.

That could mean that they are selling older stock... Or just that the marketing guys don't want to sell the Cg50.

Perhaps it's not worth mentioning because it is irrelevant for the UK syllabi.

Quote:It's also conceivable that Python had to be withdrawn due to some vulnerability or exam restriction.

Python is disabled in Exam mode, and as toml_12953 mentioned, the user can install it anyway.

— Ian Abbott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2020, 10:01 PM (This post was last modified: 07-14-2020 10:06 PM by StephenG1CMZ.)
Post: #69
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
I'd rather pay £123* for a Python that worked, than £123* + £300* for a PC that might possibly fix it.
(And, I like to encourage sales staff that try to sell calculators, rather than those that try to hide them... At least the Cg50 exists on the High St, even if it lacks Python there).

*Prices are approximate.

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2020, 05:51 PM
Post: #70
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(07-14-2020 10:01 PM)StephenG1CMZ Wrote:  I'd rather pay £123* for a Python that worked, than £123* + £300* for a PC that might possibly fix it.
(And, I like to encourage sales staff that try to sell calculators, rather than those that try to hide them... At least the Cg50 exists on the High St, even if it lacks Python there).

*Prices are approximate.

Check Ryman too. You may find it cheaper there (currently £99.99).

— Ian Abbott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2020, 08:55 PM
Post: #71
RE: CASIO Graph 90+E
(07-15-2020 05:51 PM)ijabbott Wrote:  
(07-14-2020 10:01 PM)StephenG1CMZ Wrote:  I'd rather pay £123* for a Python that worked, than £123* + £300* for a PC that might possibly fix it.
(And, I like to encourage sales staff that try to sell calculators, rather than those that try to hide them... At least the Cg50 exists on the High St, even if it lacks Python there).

*Prices are approximate.

Check Ryman too. You may find it cheaper there (currently £99.99).
Thanks.
The price is cheaper there (though for me the shop is an extra 20 miles away). But yet again, no Python.

Stephen Lewkowicz (G1CMZ)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)