Help with 41CL and printer
10-19-2019, 11:29 PM
Help with 41CL and printer
I have just completed an installation of a 41CL board.
Everything seems to work fine so far.
I am able to plug and unplug modules and they work OK.

I have YFNZ plugged into port 1L per the instructions.

My 82143A Printer only works when plugged into port 2.
It prints garbage when plugged into port 3 or 4.

I am just getting started with the CL so it must be operator error.
Any troubleshooting wisdom would be appreciated.

Thanks
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-20-2019, 02:18 AM (This post was last modified: 10-20-2019 03:07 AM by BobVA.)
RE: Help with 41CL and printer
Well, it "should work" - I just tried mine on Port 3. In case it's of any use in your trouble-shooting:

Here's my startup sequence from MEMORY LOST - the plain vanilla 41CL setup:

XEQ ALPHA MMUCLR ALPHA
ALPHA YFNZ ALPHA XEQ ALPHA PLUG1L ALPHA
XEQ ALPHA MMUEN ALPHA

I have nothing in port 1 (serial connector on that cover) and a Time Module in port 2.

Maybe some areas to consider:

Have you tried any other modules in the ports that don't work with the printer? If they act weird it may be a hardware / connection issue.

Does the printer cable seem to seat properly in the other ports? Can you see the printer in the CAT 2 listing when it's plugged into the other ports?

If you have any other modules plugged in it might be useful to remove them and see what happens.
Find all posts by this user
10-20-2019, 03:48 AM
I think you are right about it being a connection or hardware issue. I plugged in the card reader from my 41CV and it does not show up in cat 2. It seems to be something in common with port 3 and 4. The printer works fine in port 1 and 2.

I really hate to disassemble it again for fear of stripping the posts.
10-20-2019, 04:34 PM